Oops.


Advertisement
Published: June 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post


And today Haley learns an important lesson about the Irish pronunciation of "1:35". It is, in fact, very similar to the American pronunciation of "1:45".
... yeah, I totally just missed my bus. Just so you know.
It does actually still have my backpack on it.

No worries, though... I guess it's a common thing? They telephoned the bus driver and he's going to leave it at the Inspector's Office of the Cork bus station for me, and I'll grab it when I change buses to Youghal (pronounced "YAWL". As about 50 people helpfully pointed out to me.)

Anyway, things are still going swimmingly.. other than that silly little misunderstanding with the bus times and all that.
In my defence, at 1:35 I was in the process of helping two blind women into the bathroom. No lie - I was sitting there with a newspaper and a man asked if I could help them find the ladies room, so I did.
... although, yeah, I guess that doesn't really count since I would have sat there reading the paper until 1:45 anyway. We'll pretend like I missed the bus mainly because I was helping the blind, okay? If anyone asks?

A couple days ago I took the day off and biked around the Clare mountainside trying to find the ancient ruins of a dolmen. It took about 5 hours, but eventually I got there - the path was ridiculous. It led through bogs, forest, and - I swear to God - quicksand. There was a sign, and the sign said "quicksand", and it was really more like quick-mud, but it was still icky and my boots will never be the same.
The dolmen was cool and rocky and druidy and all that, but... 5 hours of hiking up mountains is sort of torturous.
(Oh, by the way? That thing about how you never forget how to ride a bike? It's a dirty lie. And relearning on mountain paths is pretty much impossible. I got really great at going downhill, though. Not so great at stopping, but the GOING downhill was pretty easy.
... Luckily, no bruises or anything. And no bee stings. So that's all pretty astronishing.)

Okay, I'm going to go now so I can try to not miss the 2:35 bus. I think that would be a good deal. It doesn't really matter, but I feel like my dignity would be really injured if I had to catch the 3:35 bus and then explain to the people in Cork that I'm really just chronically awful at understanding time.

I'm off!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.367s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.3312s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb