Week 1 - Mournes - Trassy Track


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Lisburn
September 17th 2009
Published: September 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This was our first week as a group going up the Mourne Mountains. We walked the 'Trassy Track' to the bottom of 'Hare's Gap'.
During the walk we practiced our compass and map reading skills, this was helpful as it had been a while since I last used these skills, and needed to go over the basics of it again. I also learnt how account for magnetic North by adding 7degrees to the map bearing.

I feel I have developed patience when helping others to understand things, as in the past I have found myself to have a short amount of patience, as I usually feel that if someone wasn't listening, then it is their own problem that they don't know what to do. But my attitude to this is changing. Also I am getting into the habit of looking back to check on the group, to make sure that we are not leaving people behind. These are both traits that I hope to develop and improve over the course of our time in the Mournes.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb