Hello from Belfast


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Belfast
October 29th 2006
Published: October 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey people,
How's everyone?
I thought I'd give another update. Last time I wrote I think I was heading into County Galway. Galway is another great place and is also where my grandpa is from so that was good to see. I think that would be my favorite place in Ireland with Dublin. I would have loved to stay there and do some sort of bar work but the best my UK visa can do in Ireland is work in Belfast (Northern Ireland).

I spent a few days in Galway with Matty (A mate i made on tour). We had started taking it easy and even decided that it would be a good idea to start cooking our own meals. Eating and drinking out all the time has been taking it's toll on the finances (and fitness!) He then left for Belfast and I went to Portumna (Small town in the East of County Galway) and I planned to catch up with some relatives that still lived in the town my grandpa was born. That was great. My mum's aunty took me in showed me the town, showed where my pop and his family grew up, went to his school etc. I also met his 2 sisters and they were pretty excited and happy that I caught up with them. I also got some great home cooked meals which I really am missing.

After a few weeks in Ireland I decided that I would base myself there (well Northern Ireland-Belfast) rather than London as first planned. I arrived in Belfast on the 17 October and did a few things to set myself up for the short term. I emailed a few pubs (really wanted to do some different type of work!) and mentioned that I barely had any experience, I may want some leave and I can only work for about 2 months. Sure enough I got about 3 calls and took up a spot at a place called the Potthouse. It has about 3 levels (night club, main bar and VIP area. The place get's pretty flat out and I'm only working Friday and Saturday nights. I think a few people are getting pretty frustrated at my skills behind the bar but that's ok, the effort is there. 😊

My plan for the next 6-7 weeks is to get fit (signed at a gym and been all days since-much needed!) save a little and I suppose take it easy. I plan to leave Belfast mid December and travel the last month. I'm thinking of seeing, Edinburgh, Berlin, Prague and maybe Copenhagan. I may do it with Okey (Alan O'Connor) which should be fun.
Well like I said it has become a little quiter in the past few weeks. That will probably change over Christmas but for now I'm focused (for 6 weeks anyway!-haha )I have a short term lease (2 months) about a km out of Belfast. I'm with a few guys from Spain, Portugal, Ireland, Slovakia and another aussie. They all seem like pretty nice people. Ireland is so damn cold it's not funny. I've been whinging a bit about it but also been told that is nothing compared to what it will be like in a few weeks! A scary thought!

Well I know I keep saying it but keep in contact. Love hearing from everyone and thought of being away at Christmas is bothering me a bit but should be fine.

Take care!

Luke

(PS Im about to attempt to upload photos, if not they'll be there shortly)




Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0528s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb