Bellfast & Northern Ireland


Advertisement
Published: April 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Trip to Northern Ireland



A few weeks ago, my friend margaret and I traveled to Northern Ireland. We took a bus for about 25 euro round trip and stayed 2 nights in Belfast. I had heard several warnings before going about being careful as it is still a bit war torn and not as healed from the Irish troubles as the republic is, but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there!

The first day margaret and I just wandered around the city, took in the sights, and read up a bit on the fighting in the early 20th century between the catholics and protestants.

The second day, however, was the much more memorable of the two. We took a bus trip to the antrim coast and saw sights from the giants causeway to the carrick-a-rede rope bridge. It was spectacular. I hadn't really seen that much of Ireland yet outside of county dublin and county wicklow (southeast ireland) and county cork (southwest ireland) so it was nice to get a chance to take in some new views.

It's hard to describe exactly how everything was but the pictures should do some of it justice 😊 I can say however I have never seen so much green, so many sheep, and so many breathtaking sights all in one day. It also gave me a big push to start visiting other parts of Ireland so I immediately planned trips to county galway and county kerry when I got home!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb