A Belfast Thanksgiving


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Belfast
November 30th 2007
Published: November 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Belfast ThanksgivingBelfast ThanksgivingBelfast Thanksgiving

A pre-dinner bottle of wine with the housemates.
It has been some time since my previous entry, so needless to say, things have been quite busy. The semester is winding down which means presentations and term papers are on the horizon. It has been a couple of years since writing my last major paper so it is safe to say I am rather anxious. Nevertheless, my past three months in Northern Ireland have been nothing short of wonderful. The academic side of things has been both challenging and enlightening. Furthermore, it has fostered a keen interest in a few things I might like to pursue at a later date. And of course the recreation has been grand!

However, we have now moved into the infamous Irish winter. The days are short, and getting shorter, rainy, and the sun rarely shows its warming face. Yesterday was the first time in a week or so that we were fortunate enough to have some real sunshine. Unfortunately, it was pretty much over by 4.00 in the afternoon.

But even the somber weather didn't keep us from celebrating Thanksgiving. My friend Chelsea played the role of gourmet chef and cooked two turkeys while preparing pumpkin pie, stuffing, mashed potatoes, sweet potato fries, and gravy. And she did all this from scratch! So what did I do you ask? I sat and watched her make it. I couldn't quite make myself leave the kitchen as it smelled absolutely amazing! I guess I did run some errands for a few last minute ingredients but my part was beyond minimal.

One might wonder who ate all this food. I myself was curious and when I asked Chelsea how many people were coming she said she wasn't sure but she had mentioned the event to a few people. Well, it was a good thing that she cooked two turkeys and made an absolutely absurd amount of food as around fifty to sixty people showed up! The turkey was gone within an hour, the pumpkin pie even faster. What made it a truly unique experience is that the people attending the event were students from all over the world: Germany, Poland, India, Pakistan, Ireland, just to name a few. It was a deviation from the norm but a Thanksgiving in its truest form.

Unfortunately, I didn't take any pictures of the event but a friend of mine did. I will post a couple of them at a later date, as they become available.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0661s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb