First Days in Belfast


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » Northern Ireland » County Antrim » Belfast
September 13th 2007
Published: September 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Greetings from across the Atlantic! I arrived in Belfast yesterday morning around 8:30 amidst 60 degree temperatures and blue skies; something quite odd for this particular region of the world. I was met by members of the Queen's University International Office and taken to my accommodations for the next year.

My flat is quite nice as I am located two blocks from the main campus and the School of English. There are six international postgraduate students that live in my building and quite a few more in the area. Five of the six that live in my building are from the United States and the other is from England. However, most of the international students are from outside North America.

I didn't waste anytime finding my way to a Guinness fountain last night. Upon entering the fine establishment I was fortunate enough to witness Irish football fans at their best. Ireland was playing the Czech Republic, whom they lost to 1-0, and as a result heard traditional Irish lingo that makes south Chicago look like a montessori school. It was quite an experience. Even more interesting is that England was playing as well and were televised in another room of the pub. Thus, the Catholics were in one room watching Ireland while the Protestants were in the other watching England. I was told by a second year student at the university that though the 'Troubles' are over, there are still moments such as these that define religious affiliations. Needless to say my education has already begun.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb