London in summer


Advertisement
Published: July 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

No still in London - for some reason programme wants to have me in Belfast - is it a sign? Staying with friends Julie and John and their kids Ellie and Liam at their mews house in Nottinghill. Its just around the corner from Portobello rd and is very charming. Julie has a divine colletion of ceramics from all over- so this is itself has been very inspring. Highlights of London, - the Victoria and Albert Museum!!!!!! Probably my favourite museum, and took a photo of a fantastic mosaic! The night before Julie, Bambie and myself (they hadnt me before), had a quick dinner and then jumped into a cab off to the Westend and saw Les Miserables. I am a romantic sook, I had wanted to see this again for years, and could not really believe my luck that here I was enjoying it once more. I sobbed throughout!

Ive enjoyed just being here and wondering around. London is very crowded, any time spent shopping isnt very pleasant. Ducked into Harrods and Harvey Nichols as the sales are on - but even then there isnt an item under $100 so its not really possible to buy. Public transport is shatteringly expemsive. Ive just hanging out with my friends, Bambies girls Polly and Caitlin are just wondeful and I am so honoured to be their godmother. Ive loved sitting at home, sharing a roast and a glass of red and just catching up! Tomorrow Im off to Portsmouth for the night with my dear freiend Ranulph - and I am finally going to meet his wife Aartje! Then I begin he journey home and a night in Tokyo.

SV - thanks for the info Musee de Quai Branlee was designed by Jean Nouvel. Buzz thanks for the text messages which took my mind off he subway difficulties I was having, JC please get in touch re Ollie, Sharyn and Bernii thanks for staying in touch and good luck for college this week - please make sure the teacher knows IM A COMING...

Advertisement



13th July 2007

NEARLY ALL BACK WHERE WE BELONG
you are having the best time....it just comes through in your entries. i am very jealous, you lucky, lucky girl/woman. It makes me remember my trip last year, during the World Cup in Germany as well the heat wave that Europe had!!!! (That I will never miss!!!). Whilst you have been busy galavanting around the northern hemisphere, doing this and that, I have been hard at work in my temporary studio(Kitchen) and have nearly finished another coil pot..hopefully this one won't crack!!!! I plan to decorate it with my next batch of EBAY underglazes I received a few days ago............see what happens. Just had my car fixed.....no change from $1500.00......Phil tells me. Guess he thinks I should still keep it! So it's all ready and raring for the next trip to Hopetoun! Look forward to seeing you and all the other potter's very soon. LOL, Shaz

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb