money -root of some evil


Advertisement
Published: April 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Here in hopefully is information that may just expedite transactions for you in the future (unles you're a clever clogs and know it already.)Whilst waiting for the van to load up I decided to begin to utilise the house money.Obviously after all bills were settled, I wished to give the kids their agreed amounts(in exces of £10000).This figure is relevant as my bank-A
llliance and Leicester- will only let you put £'10000 out to designated accounts in any one day.Obviously this has not been a problem (during previous life of insolvency)so I had assumed I could continue to make payments for full amount. At 60 it gets harder to think but reasonably quickly I cracked it.4 children could get 1st £10,000 in order (one a day) and then the rota could keep repeating till all money dispensed.Having eventually worked out the most needy running order I listed all payments and felt pleased with myself. Life rule 1) never feel complacent until 'the fat lady sings'!! My daughter got back to me and said her bank had no record of a transaction and as she was overdrawn this was not good! I said i'd check with the bank,however things required doing that day and precluded me making contact with the bank that day. Next day no 2 recipient(also needy but not as immediately) rang to say the bank had no record of any payment pending.I became very worried that the same thing had happened as hapenned with the completion housemoney - namely my £20,000 was 'floating' somewhere in the super highway and unable to land!! Needless to say I made time to ring the bank as my 'on-line bank' has no e-mail provision!!!More money even if calls are charged at national rate. Maybe you can detect my edginess with regard to computer banking. It appearas that just because I had pre-designated payees it had nothing to do with direct payment any more than a cheque did. In fact it would still take 3 working days to clear and until that time would not show in recipients bank records as payment waiting. (With hindsight i now know that if I had paid £30 and asked for the transfer before 11am(!) it would have gone in the same day.) Another learning curve negotiated and a lesson learnt,stick to what you know (cheque) or do your research before acting. If I had issued the 4 cheques simultaneously for the full amount all of them could have had the money much earlier.Hope this info. may help someone avoid pitfall associated with on-line banking.Of the trip more anon when I can get off on it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.435s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.2026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb