Parting Shots


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Wiltshire » Salisbury
November 16th 2018
Published: November 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Old Sarum Old Sarum Old Sarum

That’s a Bronze Age fort on top (as seen from another river walk along the Avon)
Leaving Salisbury yesterday was tough. I’ve become attached to my daily walks along on the Avon, so on my final morning, I revisited “my” tree at the river‘s confluence near the Cathedral. I sat on a bench and listened to the birds, the bells, and the city. Like throwing a coin into the Trevi Fountain, I hope it guaranteed my return...

One hopeful indicator is that my AirBnB hosts are discussing a future in which they will spend time in other parts of the world (she’s from Indonesia and they’re building a home there). Serendipitously, they will be looking to rent out their lovely Salisbury home (with art studio ”at the bottom of the garden...) for six months at a time. We‘ve promised to stay in touch!

Attached are a few more photos of this lovely city, and a neighboring village, Wilton.

Onward travel to Redhill in south London proved a challenge (Mercury Retograde is imminent....) My ATC hosts offered to collect me from the station, preferably between 4:30 and 5pm. Planning accordingly, the rail tickets I bought allowed a scant 10 minutes to make a connection in Clapham Junction, a notoriously large and busy station. I boarded my (already crowded) train in Salisbury, and promply encountered a 25 minutes delay. Then, four stops into my six-stop journey, we were informed that our train was terminating - everyone had to get off and wait on the platform for the next train onward. No sooner had I schlepped my stuff off, than we were told, “Nevermind, get back on, we’re continuing....” What a circus!

Arriving at Clapham half an hour late, I had mere minutes to change platforms and catch the next connecting train. This involves steep stairs, but the lift to reach my desired platform was out of order. Of course. I simply stood at the top of the staircase and asked loudly for help. Instantly a man my age who was ascending turned right around and carried my (35+ lb.) case down to the platform - what an angel!

Miraculously, I made it to Redhill within the specified time slot, was whisked home by my host, and even provided a delicious dinner of chili and fruit, as their home is suburban, so no close amenities. My room is attractive and comfy, the bathroom sleek, and a bus into town stops nearby.

A few more adventures await before my Sunday flight to Connecticut!







..


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Salisbury Cathedral spireSalisbury Cathedral spire
Salisbury Cathedral spire

As seen from the Refrectory (coffee shop)
Chart HouseChart House
Chart House

Where the Salisbury copy of the Magna Carta is housed


Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb