Freshers Flu is the new Swine Flu


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Leeds
October 1st 2009
Published: August 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I finally went to classes today. I decided to walk because it's nice exercise, and it really doesn't take that long. Maybe like 35-40 minutes. With music playing, it goes by quite well... except for the whole sickness thing. It was quite difficult to breathe and even more uncomfortable to cough. Lots of pain. Anyhoo, the walk was nice anyway. The sun was coming up and there was a fresh, crispy coldness to the air.

When my professor came in, it was like he was from out of a movie. He wore black pants, black shoes, a button up shirt that was tucked in, and a tweed jacket on top. What sold him was the perfectly tied man scarf around his neck that clearly distinguished him as British. The stereotype I learned always associated a man like this with elitism of some sort. He was quite the contrary though. He's deeply passionate, down-to-earth, and kind from what I gathered when he spoke. I'm glad I didn't let my preconceptions get me.

The class should be interesting. It's psychology of folklore. I'm not sure what that means exactly, but the professor says that that is absolutely fine. I'll trust him on that.

I had a slightly embarrassing moment in class. The professor asked if anyone had been to York, or from York... I can't remember. I raised my hand and said that I had. He asked me where I was from. I said New York, and his response was, "No, no, no, I meant York not New York." I apparently misheard him and raised my hand like I knew what I was talking about. I did visit York, though. Just last weekend. I though that was what he was asking!

Once people found out I was from the states, some girls introduced themselves to me. One is actually going to Florida on exchange in January. This is where I start talking about the title. She called the bug that everyone is getting the Freshers (first year/freshman) Flu. Apparently people get the freakin' flu here when they get sick, not just a regular cold. Anyways, now I don't know what I have. Is it the Freshers Flu or the Swine Flu? Or are they one in the same? Freshers Flu definitely sounds more mild, but what I had/have is a freakin' beast. Labels shouldn't make much of a difference, but when people run away from you because your doctor says you have the Swine, you can see why I'd like to solve this mystery. It would also definitely help me when I return back through Customs to the States. Hmm.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb