Counting down!!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Yorkshire » Bradford
September 21st 2006
Published: September 22nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My Journey!

UK-Wellington-Sydney-South Africa-Home!

My travelling home!My travelling home!My travelling home!

Hmm....yet to figure out whether or not I can carry the rucksack when stuffed to it's full capacity?!
00
DAYS 
00
HOURS 
00
MINS 
00
SECS

till I go!!!



Test Run and Itinerary!


I thought I would try out adding my first blog entry before I head off on my travels! Not being overly technically minded I thought it would be a good idea! Also, thought I'd tell you a bit about what I'm going to be doing over the next six months!.....Not just laying on a beach 😉!

New Zealand
Currently (from point of writing this) I have less than a week until I depart on a 24hr flight to New Zealand! On Wednesday 27th Sep 06 I'm flying from Manchester- Heathrow-Singapore-Sydney-Wellington, eventually arriving in Wellington on Friday 29th Sep 06!! One heck of a journey! Flight socks, leg exercises, music and a mammoth book at the ready! Praying for good films and some friendly bods sat next to me!

In New Zealand I'm doing some voluntary conservation work for 6 weeks with an organisation called Global Volunteer Network . The aim of the programme is to provide assistance to local conservation groups and projects within New Zealand. Some of the projects include anything from bird/marine mammal monitoring to trash and weed removal! The programme is based in Lower Hutt within the Greater Wellington area. I'll be staying in a shared house with 9 other volunteers - variety of nationalities and ages!

After the 6 week placement I have 5 weeks left in NZ- plan for this period.......currently 'no plan'! Arghh! So watch this space!

Australia
I leave NZ on the 15th December 06 and head for Sydney (only a 3.5 hr flight this time round! Wahoo!) I' ll be in Sydney for just over three weeks. I'm staying in a backpackers hostel and will hopefully pay a visit to 'The Crumps' (relatives from mum's side of the family) too around Christmas and New Year.

South Africa
To add another leg onto the journey, on the 8th January 07 I fly from Sydney to Johannesburg! I'm working for 10 weeks on a Wildlife Research Expedition in South Africa with Global Vision International. The placement is based on the Karongwe game Reserve and Venetia Limpopo Nature reserve, both in the Limpopo province. The main project is wildlife monitoring of predator/prey interactions. It looks at the impact of reintroduced mammals on the game reserves in order to help with their management and conservation.

Home....
I set off back home, to good old Bingley in the land of Yorkshire, on the 31st March 2007. No doubt when I'm sat in Bingley spoons when I return it will feel like I have never been away.....!


Advertisement



26th September 2006

Good Luck Procter!!!
Good luck jus had a nosey at where you're going and what you'll be doing and it sounds wicked. Make sure u keep in touch and i'll see u in bingley in spoons for ur welcome home party hee :) xx
29th September 2006

Heya!
Hope the flight went OK hun, looking forward to hearing how you're settling in!!
12th October 2006

See ya soon!
Hey Han Looks like you're having an amazing time! Flight all booked so I guess I'll be seeing you shortly for some xmas sunbathing!! How weird will that be?! So excited but my outward flight has 4 changes! ARGH! I'm scared. Take care. Love ya x
13th December 2006

Sounds ace
H, it sounds like your having a great time! Enjoy the outback, let me know what your doing out there. THe volunteer work sounds different, i'll grill you on it when you're back. Take care Alex Xx

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb