Back To Reality


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Sutton Coldfield
January 20th 2007
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

World Map


Well, what a year it's been! I must admit that it's nice to be home, despite the freezing climate - the snow actually seemed pretty and quaint rather than the usual pain in the ass (funny how a year in the sun can addle the brain!) Naturally the biggest highlights are seeing my family and friends again, but I'm also loving the small things that you come to take for granted before setting off with just a backpack full of essential items; sleeping in your own bed, not having to check out by 10 for fear of losing your key deposit, not having to take everything into the shower with you, not having to write your name on everything before putting it in the fridge, not having to lock your stuff away every night before bed and having a variety of clean clothes to choose from ... I could go on!
That said, I wouldn't have changed the past year for a minute. There have been highs and lows; tears and laughter; I've caught up with old friends and made new ones; I've experienced new cultures and tried to pass on some of ours (you try explaining what a Yorkshire pudding is to an American!); I've seen abject poverty and ridiculous wealth; visited shanty towns and grand palaces and have been surprised by a number of things ranging from the positive attitudes of inmates in a Bangkok prison to various family members turning up in the most unlikely places! My geography and history have improved no end. I've mastered the art of sleeping virtually anywhere, and have stayed in absolute holes and lush hotels. I've learnt how to hold a conversation solely using hand gestures, and how to make a banquet out of some cheese and supernoodles! I've climbed glaciers and mountains and dived to the bottom of the sea; I've flown a plane and leapt out of one; I've met Nemo and Simba and a whole host of other Disney cast members. I've even learnt to appreciate cricket! You get the picture - I've learnt a lot, experienced a great deal and all in all had a bloody brilliant time!
So now it's back to reality, and in some ways it's like I've never been away, except that everyone seems to be getting married (what's that all about?!) Whilst it's obviously never going to be as exciting as the past year has been, I'm looking forward to the next bit - although once I've started back at work next week I could well be changing my tune!
Obviously they'll be some obstacles to overcome - walking in heels for one - I was never the most accomplished at this before going away and after a year in flip flops I'm like Bambi on ice! Remembering how to use a fax machine and navigating my way around office politics could also prove challenging, but seeing all my old friends and getting re-settled back into London life will make it all worthwhile so bring it on! Without sounding too cheesy, I've always got my memories of a fantastic year, as well as plenty of ideas for future holidays ... all I need to do now is win the lottery .....
The End

Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb