Pre-Trip Thoughts


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
October 15th 2007
Published: October 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It seems quite strange sitting here in my nice comfy house with my dog bailey laying at my feet that in less than a week i'll be over the other side of the world, thousands or miles away from the places I know and the people I love. But before I get too bleary eyed i'll also say that this also is the most excited I've felt in a long time. The end of university had been a bit of a come-down, moving away from North Wales, and some of the best friends i've ever had, back to dreary old Coventry and awful awful Primark.

Travelling is something i've wanted to do for as long as I can remember, and there were times in the last year where it looked like it might not happen, However six months, two rucksacks and one-hell-of-a-lotta money later here I am!

Going through the numerous checklists from many different websites it seems as though i've got most of the things im going to need to survive six months on the road. The question now is not 'what to pack' but what to leave out. I've decided to travel as light as possible but i've still managed to fill a 55 litre rucksack and 20 litre daysack. So much for travelling light!!!

I've got my passport, etickets, real tickets, backups, currency, sleeping bag, mummy bag, kitchen sink plug (no, really!!) and even a roll of gaffa tape so i feel im covered for almost every eventuality. I don't yet have a visa for Australia but the nice lady at STA assures me its on the way, but then so's Christmas... and i've got a feeling of which will arrive sooner!

So really thats it, I've got my coach ticket to Heathrow leaving at 5:30am on saturday and by lunchtime i'll be on my way to the United States of America. Unfortunatly that means i will not get to watch the Rugby World Cup Final, I cant believe they make it to the final the same day as im flying thats just typical...

Advertisement



16th October 2007

1 green bottle hanging on the wall
hey mate, not long to go now till the big journey. can't beleive ure missing the rugby final, oh well never mind i'll watch england lose 4 u. Don't forget to pack some Pepto-Bismol, u just never know when the shits may come to call, sorry m8. good luck on ur travels and dont go into any caves. will ne reading ur blog avidly to satisfy my lonely existence in brecon.
17th October 2007

Gaffa
The tape will prove to be THE single most useful item in your armoury. It will fix mosquito nets, bags, t-shirts, motorbikes etc... Wayne has a good point. Do pack them because it can and will happen. You know all of this anyway... Have fun mate.
17th October 2007

Gaffa
Cheers Mate!, As an engineer friend once said, Gaffa tape can fix anything! I think he even fixed part of an airplane with it which is slightly worrying!! But no matter i have packed a roll whether it be sticking my leg back on or for shutting joe up!...
20th October 2007

bye bye
heyya, you won't get this til you are in the first place that has internet access, but i wanted to say good luck, have fun and i will miss you lots. :( i do worry about you! hence why i am still sat up at 3.10 am on the morning you leave! just promise me you will be careful and don't drink too much! (or offer to take peoples bags through customs!!!) lmao! no, i know you're not that stupid. well, as Joe said, you leave here a boy but come back as a man - i think Joe might come back as a woman so just keep him away from any plastic surgeries when drunk ok? love you lots and miss you. it's going to be so strange without you here at christmas. don't forget about us!!! love from your baby sister, Em xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb