Back to the states.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So Im back in the states. I miss the UK.

My last day at the flat was really bittersweet. I got up at like 11 and just laid in bed for a while, enjoying one last morning in my room. I then watched my favorite episode of Veronica Mars because I knew I would need to give season 1 back to Jonny. Eventually I got up and ready to run errands. I showered and then went around campus. I tried to pick up the movie Bobby from the Humanities building but the woman I needed wasnt there, so I then went to the Arts Center to pick up some cards for my flatmates and thank you cards for us to send to parents for letting us stay at their houses during the road trips. The cars were really expensive, so after I got money from the ATM and bought shot glasses at the Arts Center, I went to Costcutter and found cards. I then went to the library to pay off my 15 pound fine, and then back to Humanities where I got the movie. Then I went to University House to the International Office. I met with Chris Sharp to talk about my time there and then filled out the paperwork for it. Plus, I got back the two papers I turned in and found out that I got two 2/1 marks, not bad. On my way back to the flat I saw David and Chris going to get their marks, they pretended to blank me, jerks. When I got back to the flat I made lunch, I was starving. It was my first Chicken Tikka, really good, but filling...like the Anchorman burritto. Anyways, a few of us just hung out in the kitchen while Melissa and Daniel washed up from the night before. It was nice having a weekday when no one had anything obligatory to do, but it sucked because I knew it was the last. We watched Wimbledon and other tv, and then I went to pack. What a nightmare. I decided that I wasnt going to be able to bring everything back in the two bags I came with, so I had to pack a third. It was really frustrating and it took a long time. In the middle of packing, mom called to see if she really needed to pick me up from the airport, which really frustrated me becuase it felt like I was being punished for having plans for when I got home. That brought on the first tears of the day. Anyways, after a while, I started to write the cards to the flatmates, and then Jonny came and got me for my last episode of Hollyoaks. 😞 After that, a few of us went to Tesco and Melissa and I went tanning. When I came out of the booth, Melissa was right outiside the door wearing the eye protection and she roared at me, it scared me, but was hilarious. We then headed back to the flat and started cooking. Everyone came to hang out in the kitchen, Jonny was dancing and trying to make our last night fun (success). I then curled my hair and helped Melissa cook a little more. Everyone helped out and cleared the table and whatnot. Those were the best times, just when everyone hung out doing nothing but enjoying each other. Looking back, thats what Ill miss the most. Anyways, we then sat down for dinner. I was ready, Strongbow in hand for the night ahead. Melissa propossed a toast to me, it was really sweet. Tea was really good, random, but good. We had chicken fajitas, but over jacket potatos, plus carmelized carrots, and yorkshire puddings. We spent the time reminiscing and laughing. After dinner, we cleared the table and then Melissa called Jonny all sketchily out of the kitchen. It had been happening all week, and everyone was being kinda sketchy, so I knew something was up, but I wasnt sure what. They came back in and said "So Im sure you noticed weve been acting strange all week,." I agreed and they said they had a present for me. Then they handed me the horrible pictures Kobi had taken in London, I hate those pictures!! Then they said they were joking, and handed me this gorgeous black scrapbook. Its black thick board with a silver British flag on the front. I went through it and its full of pictures from the two last terms. Plus, there was little captions under most of them, absolutely hilarious. The best part, is that everyone has their own page which they wrote messages in. I went through it with everyone reading the captions, but knew I couldnt read the messages yet because if I did I dont know if I could actually get on the plane the next day and leave them. That scrapbook is the nicest thing anyone has ever done for me, and now my most prized possession. I owe my flatmates so much for that because it means so much to me. As soon as I finished going through it and giving everyone hugs, I realized I hadnt booked my ticket to London yet, so I went to my room to do that. I started crying down the hall thinking about how sweet everyone was. I tried to figure out my bus ticket, and a few minutes later, everyone came to my room to hang out. I was having a lot of trouble scheduling the next day, especially because it was going to be really hard to get to my plane with time to check in. Jonny helped me out a lot and called his brother to figure out how long before my flight I would have to check in and he found out that I could check in online to speed things up, so he did that for me, which I realy appreciated. I bought another bus ticket, in addition to the original ones Jonny had already bought for us a couple weeks before. Originally we were suppose to go to London together because he was going to visit his friend, and then he could help me with my things. Since he had to stay to find out his results, he couldnt come, so I needed to book the other ticket to avoid having to drag my bags through London. At this point I realized how many things I had and I wasnt going to be able to do anything on my own. Anyways, so I bought an 18 pound ticket to Heathrow to avoid the change at Victoria. Well actually, I planned, then forgot and went back to the kitchen, then realized I forgot, and about an hour later went back to my room to book it. I then went back to the kitchen and we all hung out, just talking. I think we continued drinking and listening to music, then Jonny brought his guitar in and played for us, another thing Ill miss. I painted my nails, and tried to fight the tears which were continually welling up in my eyes. Then Jonny decided he wanted more drink, so him and I went to Tesco for my last time. We talked about how much it was going to suck for us all to say goodbye. We talked about how friends from school just hold this deep connection that friends from home dont share, and all I kept thinking was how Im ever going to last 6 months without seeing everyone. When we got back, everyone had dragged their bedding into the kitchen. Melissa had gone to bed because she was really really tired, but the rest of us planned to sleep in the kitchen for our last night all together. I didnt think everyone would want to, so I was really excited to see that everyone was going to. I grabbed my bedding and came to chill in the kitchen. We played cards, setback, and I forget who won, maybe I did. Jonny raved, of course, I got a lot of the evening on tape. From there we were all really tired and it was like 4 or so, so we passed out. I was sad to go to sleep because I didnt want the last night to end, but I knew I had to get up in like 2 hours so we just passed out. I slept between Kobi and Jonny, so I got a Kobi elbow in the eye at one point and heard him farting for the rest of the night, but I think I was the only one who heard it so I didnt have anyone to laugh about it with. Anyways, that was my last night. The next day was one of the worst days of my life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb