Finally Here


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Coventry
January 7th 2007
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, Im finally at the University of Warwick in England!! The week getting here was both long and short at the same time. The highlight was definitely Friday night with dinner and a little partying. In attendence was:
From Home: Logan, Niki, Ben, Leah, and Josh
From ACL: Corie, Michelle, Scott, Mike, and Eric
Biddies: Lindsay and Meghan
From Pi Phi: Jackie, Ric, Danimal, Liz
A bunch of people met at my house in EL first and we just chilled while everyone else was stuck in traffic. We opened a bottle of wine and pushed back dinner and hour. Getting to Par Four in Groton was no easy task. Everyone but Liz (who got stuck in a shitload of traffic and got a ticket trying to get there on-time) made it to my house before. So we split up into cars and navigated there, and Im pretty sure EVERYONE got lost. Sorry guys!! But dinner was delicious and the waitress loved us, which was weird because we were a pain. Some people whiped out some "fakes", she basically drove Liz there over the phone, and we asked for seperate checks. But she got a good tip so whatev. So we all headed back to the house, did a little drinking, some pong, and eventually had an ACL wrestling match over ping-pong balls, shoes and a belt-buckle. But we were all beat up and Im pretty sure I still have bruises. Then we all passed out in the front-room exhausted and injured. The next morning, after some hard goodbyes, a few of us went out to lunch at Chili's and iKea. Overall, Friday night was one of the best times of my life. It was awesome having so many people that I love in one place. If you added just a couple more people who couldnt make it and locked us all up in my house, I would be perfectly happy for a LONG time.

Anyways, the following Friday (travel day) ACL Mike treated me to breakfast, I ran some errands, and then I drove to JFK with my mom. I was scared out of my mind, so I took some Valium and my mom got me a drink at the bar before we parted ways. The final goodbye was harder than I thought for both my mom and I. Partially because I just didnt want to get on the plane and partially because I knew this was the last time I could see my mom for the longest time in my life. My flight was scheduled to leave from JFK at 6:30pm but we sat in the runway for about an hour and a half (AH!). I cried as soon as the plane started to move, I know Im lame, trust me. The flight was about 7 hours of uncomfortable seated pain. But at least the food was decent and the entertainment was abundant. Each seat had its own personal screen and you could choose from TV shows, movies, games, travel info., the news, and music. I think I tried a little bit of everything. We landed in London at 6:45am their time. I didnt have a window seat so I had to glare over the man that did so he probably thought I was a total freak, o well, hes right. Hitting the ground was the best feeling of the day.
After walking like a mile with all my crap, I checked in to the country. The man who checked me in was SO weird looking. So the whole time Im standing there praying that this isnt an indication of English men. After he played 20 questions with me I found where to catch my bus and waited for about 45 minutes till it got there. Im pretty sure the driver HATED me for having so much stuff. (I had to pay $35 at JFK for one of my bags being 70lbs while the other was 50lbs woops). I wanted to tell the guy to be nice to me because that was luggage to last me 6 months, geez! Anyways, I think I slept a whole 15 minutes on the 2 hour bus ride. We didnt even drive through London so I still havent seen it yet which Im still upset about. After I got off that bus I caught another bus to campus, lugged my stuff to check in, caught a cab (which I tried to get in the driver side forgetting the difference), and got to my building and then unpacked for a while.
Everyone here has a single, you share a bathroom with one person and then you share a kitchen/common room with 7 other people. There is only one girl in my flat and the other 6 are boys. I met a girl Melissa from another flat who was friends with the girl who I replaced. I also met my flatmate Peter who is from CALIFORNIA!! Hes been here since last trimester but he was happy to have someone else here from America (as am I). He was really helpful and we went to Tesco (like Walmart but less stuff and higher prices) and some other stores. I suck at the money thing here so Im just using my card, its a lot easier.
After I got back with some groceries I had to go back out to town to get a phone, a plug adapter and an Ethernet cord. OMG!! What a nightmare. I caught the bus and shopped around for a couple hours, the stores were neat. I got everything I needed and I think Ive figured out how to call America. Then I had to walk for a while to find where to catch the bus back and then I got off the wrong bus stop and had to walk another mile alone at night to get back to my buidling and of course it was raining the whole day. I came back, ate dinner, talked to the hall tutor (like our CAs at UConn) and tried to be productive but failed so I went to bed at like 9pm since I hadnt slept in about 37 hours. Its hard being alone here, and its really quiet. Im just hoping that when everyone moves back in it will liven up. Feel free to email me or IM me or whatever. I miss everyone already!!

Advertisement



8th January 2007

Send me your mailing address so i can send you bil...er, happy postcards, and other obnoxious things. And yeah, those videos made me laugh SO hard, i don't remember you coming in that night we were making tea at all....psht. And i'm really excited i figured out how to leave obnoxious comments. Expect many. PPL, Riccccccccc oh yeah- what did you edit out that was embarassing that tracey said? i really want to know.
8th January 2007

cribble. i'm living in an apartment in prague, aka your new vacation spot. i miss you a real lot, i cried while watching your videos. i hope you have a ton of fun for your first night out tonight!
8th January 2007

Hey hey
Hey, this is Jenny rigghhhht?? It doesnt tell me.
9th January 2007

Yippee
Just read your 2nd blog...I'm really liking this whole stalking-through-your-blog ordeal. Ha ha seriously though, the videos are quite entertaining. Got your letter today...thankkkkkk you. It only took a year...literally. Last time we used it was in NYC. Thanks for making me wait a year! Now I'm quitting and won't be able to use it. Damnnnn son. Alrighty, looking forward to reading about your 1st day real soonnnnnnnnn. I likkeeeeee tooooo reepeeeeeatttttt lettterrrsss. He he. : )

Tot: 0.254s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.055s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb