Tactical retreat


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » West Midlands » Birmingham
April 2nd 2006
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Another entry and another twist on the journey. This time I'm tapping out a mesage from an internet terminal on an indutrial estate back in the UK.

I'm back in Britain and it's surprised me to be here. After all, I'd planned to explore more islands and then make my way to Malaysia.

However, it seems fate has a different route planned for me and I received some news that made such fripperies as clothes shopping and bird watching seem inconsequential.
My mom is very ill right now and it seemed the best thing to come back to England to try and be of use back at home.

I have learned in a short space of time that we really have to take each day as it comes and be thankful for whatever we have already. I have had enough adventures in a couple of weeks to last ... well until I next pack my safari suit and travellers cheques. And I do still have an open ended return ticket from Bangkok available to me...

So its off to the beauty salon to try and finally get a sun tan, followed by a quick splash in the jacuzzi and steam room. In there, if you can close your eyes and forget about the pasty office-ghosts in speedos squeezed into the hot tub, then its a bit like where I was only a few short weeks ago. Minus the ladyboys and skinned frogs.

Open them again and its time to wrap up warm and stiffen your lip for whatever else the road has in store.

I'm glad to be back, even if it's not for the reasons I would have ever wanted. I know that there are some things you really have to be present to see through - even if its not on the planned 'list of things to do'.

I'm glad to be back ...because you just can't get cashmere in Bangkok.

xxx

Advertisement



3rd April 2006

Hey Tony, Lovely to have you back, so nice that you're here for your Mom too. All the best honey, hope she gets well real soon. Sending up prayers for you ; ) xxx
3rd April 2006

hey cutey - sorry to hear about your mum. I hope you had enjoyed your short but sweet from the sounds of things adventure?! and as you say you still have an open ticket so who knows what will happen for you. I hope your mum gets well soon x
7th April 2006

welcome back
Hey T! Wow it was just the other day when I was running in the pouring rain to come and meet you and see you off. Was unexpectedly early to see you back, London is still wet and miserable! But good to have you back and did you hook up with my friend in Thailand? Please send my love to your mum I do want to come visit you again in your farm. Miss all the big portions of food and dessert your mum makes! Hope she gets better soon and let me know what your plans are now. xxx

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb