Filling in the Gaps


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Tyne & Wear » Sunderland
October 31st 2008
Published: October 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

A hearty hello to you all!

I apologize for taking so long to get back here --it turns out there's been a bit of clamoring for a bit of Tom Jacob insight back at home -- and fortunately I am more than happy to oblige.

Unfortunately, I can't say that a whole lot has been going on in the past week or so!

I've firmly settled into my flat and my classes. My classes are going very well, they're all very self-guided with little homework, which just means I have plenty of extra time on my hands for reading and, potentially, more traveling. In fact, I just booked a flight for Dublin with some friends for Tuesday, November 25th, for around three pounds. What a deal! And tomorrow we plan on heading to Newcastle for the day (or perhaps somewhere else) and catching some live music, a great band called The Week That Was, back at the Campus bar that evening.

I have been keeping busy around these parts, though. I've finally got into a routine of buying my own food and cooking for myself. My spaghetti is already tasting delicious (not surprising considering how the family is renown for our spaghetti) and I'm serving up a "traditional American dinner" for international cooking night in the flat next door. It will consist of hot dogs and condiments and s'mores!


Hmm, anything else?

Oh, I also send my regards to my Uncle Jeff, glad to hear you're feeling better. And a hearty thank you for the various care packages, the giftees came in real handy (particularly the chocolate chip cookies, which everyone were jealous of).

And finally, we've got an election in a few days, hope everyone's planning to vote! :-)


All for now; expect some more news in the next day or two with pictures from my Saturday trip and the concert.

Cheers all around!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb