There's no place like home


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey
July 7th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So the adventure is now over, I am back in the comfort of my own home. My mum has decorated my room and has made room for all the boxes I have sent back. I now have the labourous task of sorting through everything and rediscovering what I have bought over the past 6 months!

Time has really flown by this past 6 months, I can't believe half a year has passed and I have been the whole way around the world!

People keep on asking me the same questions so I'm gonna break it down for ya'll.

Total No. of flights: 22

Total No. of Countries: 12

BESTS

Country: Thailand- because it was soo cheap, relaxed and full of culture
China- because it was soo cheap
New Zealand- because they have the best Lamb and Salmon, the
scenery was amazing and the people were soo nice.

City: Beijing
Byron Bay- Australia
Las Vegas
South Beach - Miami
Cancun
Melbourne

Nicest People: New Zealand

Best Shopping: Beijing

Most place likely to emmigrate to: New Zealand

Greatest Achievement: Learning to dive, even though I cannot swim!

Repeat destination: All apart from Singapore, Malaysia, Fiji and LA

Sight(s): Taj Mahal
Reclining Buddha
Great Barrier Reef
Great Wall of China
Silk Market
Uluru
Franz Josef Glacier

Hotel: Luxor- Las Vegas

Purchase: Well................................................................

Sunrise: Koh Pha Ngan

Sunset: Koh Tao

Weather: Thailand- apart for our little storm in KPN

Drink: Jam Jars in Byron Bay

Food: Mexico for the quality, Beijing for the range

View: In our campervan in New Zealand, where everynight we would park in the dark and wake up to a fantastic view

People watching: In Beijing, where everyone stared because they hadn't seen a black person before- a bit annoying at first but I just got used to it after a while.

Helpful person: Don, who fed us for the entire time we were in Miami!
Jesper, without whom we would have got straight back on the plane in Beijing


WORSTS

Country: Fiji- surprising I know, but we have been to a lot of countries- one of them has to come last

City: Mumbai, no contest

Rudest people: Beiing (I think it was ignorance rather than outright rudeness)

Shopping: Miami- because, can you believe it, we acutally didn't do any there!

Hotel: Hotel Samarat- Mumbai

Weather: Fiji

Food: India- cos we were scared to eat anything!

Most embarrasing moment: The fact that I tell everyone I am gonna be an Accountant, then realise that I cannot add or subtract anymore!

Most extreme weather experienced: Koh Pha Ngan

Longest journey: 18 hours on a Greyhound bus from San Francisco to Vegas

Craziest and longest night out: 6th June, South Beach

Longest day: 21st May -42 Hours, Fiji- Auckland, Auckland- LA. 15.5 hr of flights


So as you can see I have a whole lot more bests than I do worsts, thats because as a whole this trip was fantastic and a once in a lifetime experience. Kay and I have had some personal comments on our travelblogs, disagreeing with our opinions and insinuating that we are ungrateful for this experience. All of what we have reported have been our own opinions, that is the whole point of travelblog! Of course they are going to be biased and will not be objective, but they are our own views.

Back to reality now..................................................

















Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb