So this is where I live ...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Surrey » Kingston
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

The View from my windowThe View from my windowThe View from my window

I snapped this the day I arrived. My building looks identical to this one.
I've started this blog so that all of my friends and family back home can keep track of me while I'm in the UK. I don't have much to report so far since I've been here less than a week although you might be interested to here that all of London has been brought to a halt today because we received about 5-6 inches of snow last night which apparently almost never happens here. So today, the first day of school, classes are canceled. The buses, trains, and tube are shut and pretty much everyone has stayed home to play in the snow. It feels just like home to me!
I've put up a couple of pictures from my trip into London a few days ago, unfortunately my camera ran out of battery after just two pictures but I'm not too worried. I know I'll be back in that area of the city many times this semester so rest assured, more pictures to come!




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My roomMy room
My room

It's smaller than I expected but I think it's rather cute.
The View from my window 5 days laterThe View from my window 5 days later
The View from my window 5 days later

This is what happened to London on Feb 2, 2009. Apparently London has not received this must snow since 1991. All of London came to a halt.
Westminster AbbeyWestminster Abbey
Westminster Abbey

Western/Coronation Entrance
Sovereign's Entrance, House of ParliamentSovereign's Entrance, House of Parliament
Sovereign's Entrance, House of Parliament

This tower holds Parliament's records and the arch at the bottom is the Sovereign's entrance to the House of Lords. Did you know the Queen actually has to ask official permission to enter the House of Parliament?


3rd February 2009

beautiful!
It looks beautiful there Linds! The building you are in is very cool. I can't believe it snowed so much there. I'm glad it makes you feel at home though. Yay for a travel blog and pictures! Now I can picture where you are. haha Love you! xo Gelly
3rd February 2009

nice photos!
Thanks for keeping us in the loop Lindsay. Are you on facebook?

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb