The Begining of the End


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Suffolk » Haverhill
August 22nd 2007
Published: August 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, I tink I'm gunna use this site for my log of the forthcoming journey cos the MYspace one is very limited and I keep losin my entries, and all the others seem to require a degree in computer science to understand.
So here I am and here I'm gunna stay.

Unless of course this is a lot more complicated than it appears!

Its raining, cos, well, its England. But after a restless night of tossing and turning, of avoiding zombies and mutant giant dogs the size of cows in some kinda Dawn of the Dead dream, I woke up thinking about my visa to India. I had sent it off Aug 14th and no sign...and so no visa....no entry and a canceled air ticket and all manner of annoying stuff. But hey, there on the door mat was a special delivery note, and my passport and visa where waiting for me at the pick up. So its all ahead.
The plan?

Don't have one. Have an idea, but after so long and so much traveling over the years, I have learnt that plans seldom work out and in fact trying to make them work tends to ruin the fun of the whole thing. So, no plan, just an idea.
The idea is fly to Chennai, formally Madras, arguably the most polluted city on the planet.
Arrival time, 06.00hrs.
Get a taxi out of Chennai immediately and the 30k south to Pondicherry....2000rps
Spend at least two days doing absolutely nothing but getting used to the climate and culture.
Head for Auroville and an internship on one of the projects there.
Lose weight.
Eat healthily, preferably vegan or vege.
See if I can learn to cook some curries and local dishes.
Learn Tai Chi.
Learn southern Indian drums
Lose some more weight.
And after 4 months, think about heading over to Kerala cos I must hang out in the back waters for a while, it looks stunning.

However, as stated this is the idea....I mean, losing weight in India doesnt always boil down to healthy eating and exercise, and eating vegan or vege does tend to take away the pleasure of eating seafood, my overwhelming passion, but we shall see.😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb