Journey’s End?


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Staffordshire
May 16th 2007
Published: May 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Devil HimselfThe Devil HimselfThe Devil Himself

A Statue in Madrid of Lucifer, the fallen angel.
Finally, I am back in England and my little adventure is over. I have been back since 21/04/07, but have only just got around to typing my final entry.

Firstly, an apology to all my avid readers. Having read my blog entries since returning, I have noticed a considerable number of spelling mistakes. Sorry about this, I should have been more careful whilst typing, although keyboard layouts vary across different countries.

Back to my travels, I went from Salamanca to Madrid and parked by the University for a few days. Madrid is one of the places I most wanted to visit and I was not disappointed. The Parque del Retiro and Palacio Real (royal palace) being the tourist highlights for me. Another highlight was a 3 course meal that cost just 7euros and included a bottle of wine (don’t remember what I did that afternoon).

I traveled, through the night and the snow to Bilbao after Madrid. The Guggenheim museum is stunning, but its contents were a little disappointing. After several days on the Spanish coast, I finally crossed back into France, St Jean-de-Luz. I worked my way up the coast to Biaritz (I wanted to visit
Up the TowerUp the TowerUp the Tower

Jenny and me up the Effel tower on her birthday
because I remember the triangular box of chocolates from my childhood. Strange the connections we make!).
Next stop, Bordeaux, which is as relaxed a city as you could imagine, except for the main pedestrian shopping street, which was packed and goes on forever. Visited museum there and saw replica of the Les Eyzies Bison, cave painting (you are not allowed to visit the cave anymore).

Gradually traveling north, I headed for the Cognac region then the Loire valley. There is some stunning scenery around the Loire and I managed to get out on the bike a lot. The most interesting thing I found was the troglodyte caves all along the river. I also went to see the tombs of Henry 5 and Richard the Lionheart.

Heading toward Paris, I visited Orleans (Joan of Arc connection), which was a disappointment and Chartres, which is a charming place with an amazing cathedral.

Paris! I have visited before, but always with students. This time, I am here to show my daughter, Jenny, around. Having picked her up at the airport (Charles de Gaulle), we spent 4 days in the city. The Champs Elesse, Arc de Triumphe, the Seine, a picnic
The Sun Going Down on MeThe Sun Going Down on MeThe Sun Going Down on Me

Sunset over the English Channel at Dieppe. My last photo of my journey!
in Jardin du Luxembourg etc. For her birthday, on the 15 April, we went to the Louve and up the Effel tower. I hope she enjoyed herself as much as me.

After Jenny’s departure I headed to the north coast around Dieppe and spent a few days exploring the coast (lots of WW2 relics) around the area before catching the Dieppe/Newhaven ferry back to England on the 20 April (sailing through the night).

Back in England, driving on the wrong side of the road (after 10 months driving on the right) was strange, especially at roundabouts. I decided to camp for 1 night in Henley on Thames, as I had not camped in England with the van. Also, the town has a lot of good memories for me. Had an enjoyable day down by the river and listened to a live band in a pub in the evening (really good).

My last day, 21 April 2007, before returning to Cannock, in the Midlands, was spent in Windsor, catching up with some friends (not Liz and Phil) and seeing the sights.

10 months, living in a small camper van, traveling Europe! Was it fun? Yes! Would I do it again? Tomorrow if I could afford it, although realistically, I am now saving up for a tour of Australia. It has been a fantastic time, not all good, not always easy, but extremely rewarding. I have visited some stunning places, met some wonderful people and done some amazing things. And this is just in Europe!

Can’t wait to visit the rest of the world!!!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb