Days 2 & 3: Tea time and Free time!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » South Yorkshire » Sheffield » Sheffield
March 5th 2012
Published: March 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

What an eventful past few days it has been here in brisk and windy Sheffield! Sunday afternoon, I lazily rolled over to see that the time read 12:30...around 7:30 in the United States. I forced myself out of bed and started the day at an early 3 p.m. It was on this day that we discovered the fabulous T.K. Maxx (The American T.J. Maxx), Poundland, where everything is 1 pound, and Sainsbury grocery. Unfortunately Sainsbury closed their doors at 5, so our shopping spree came to an abrupt halt there. Poundland became our favorite store as soon as we walked through its doors. We must have looked like crazy American hooligans sprinting through the aisles with less than 5 minutes left 'til closing. We ended the night with a group dinner at this Mexican restaurant by the hotel. We lay in bed Sunday evening wide awake and anxious about our first days at the primary school the next morning.

Today was more fast paced and eventful. We woke up at 7:30 to meet our English guide, Andrew in the courtyard. Andrew walked with us to the tram stop where we purchased our weekly tram tickets for 13 pounds a piece. (I became nauseated at the first thought of it). We waited for our train and then hopped on for a 30 minute ride to our stop at Rainborw Forge. Afterwards, we walked a short bit to the sign that marked our destination. We were greeted warmly by the Head Teacher who offered us coffee and tea. She gave us a tour of the school. It was magnificent and so different from our schools back home. Everything was decorated in students' work. There wasn't a bare wall in the building. School announcements are posted everywhere- on bulletin boards, and t.v. slideshows. Their school grade levels are coded by years, beginning with 3 and 4 year olds. The earliest years are titled FS1 & FS2. Year 1 is equivalent to U.S's kindergarten, Year 2, first grade and so on and so forth. The children were out today for parent teacher conferences today, but most of us were able to meet our teachers. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly. It seemed to be a very laid back environment. Although, I can tell that they stress good manners and responsibility. The pre-k students were still in school and they were using a promethean board by themselves. I was so impressed. The school also grows their own garden and uses the vegetables from their gardens to make their meals. We only stayed about 30 minutes before the tour was finished and we said our goodbyes. We plan to be at the school at 8:30 every morning until 3:30 in the afternoon. We then hopped back on the tram back to our apartment. We arrived an hour and half earlier than the girls at the other school. This makes me thankful I don't have to walk as far. Next, we ate a quick lunch and dressed a little "smarter" for our scheduled tea time with the Lord Mayor of Sheffield! (The highest governing official next to the Queen) Proper etiquette states that you are not to be seated until the Lord Mayor seats herself. Therefore, we stood the entire time. I had the privilege of handing the Lord Mayor her gift from Georgia Southern. My hands were shaking as I mumbled something to her, which she obviously thought appropriate, as she smiled and thanked me. 😊 Town hall was beautiful and we snapped millions of pictures as she guided us through every room. Andrew took us downtown and discussed the history of Sheffield as we made various stops around the city. Did you know that Sheffield is the 4th largest city in England? It's also home of the steel making industry, which is unfortunately steadily declining. It hosts the largest indoor sporting facility in the UK and the largest swimming arena, to boot. Not to mention all of the music and entertainment festivals every year. With all of this booming culture and business, its no wonder this city is filled with nearly 555,000 people.

Andrew continued his tour as he showed us the indoor Winter Garden. It was a beautiful safe haven for those wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. It reminded me of the story, "The Secret Garden" hidden away in between an iron jungle. Right next door to the garden is the Milleneium Art Museum with a variety of different art exhibits based on places and themes. I hope to return in the near future. I'd like to find an assortment of other free activities to do in the city. I'm sure there are loads of sites to behold. I'd like to watch a football game or see play depending on the price and weather conditions. I am slowly beginning to realize that you truly cannot do it all. I don't want to waste a minute of my time sitting down or spending it all online. I'd rather be out there exploring and discovering new places and people!

Speaking of exploring, my roommates and I returned to our apartment to cook an Italian meal from our newly purchased groceries when our breaker fuse for the oven blew. Sparks went everywhere. Luckily, no one was hurt. Cooking dinner was obviously a no go, so we resorted to eating out at the CHEAPEST possible restuarant we could find. This was our mission. We searched and searched and finally came across this place called the Frog and Parrot. The guy at the counter complimented our accents, asked where we were from and then where we planned to visit. He said to definitely see Liverpool, Edinborough and Strattford-upon-Avon. I'll keep what he said in mind. I ordered a steak ciabatta with a salad and Stella Artois for 5.19 pounds. It was very savory and delicious. The meat was cooked to perfection. The scrumptious food and familiar music left me wanting more. I have a feeling I'll be visiting that diner again in the near future. "Sweet Home Alabama" is a great song to hear no matter what side of the ocean you are on.

We returned home satiated and satisified, and are now all sitting on one long couch posting fairly similar blogs about today's happenings in South Yorkshire. I'll pop in to report you on the rest of my experiences as they come to me. I'm sure I forgot much information, which I hope to remember to update you on in the days to come. Hope all is well with everyone in the land of the stars and stripes. 😊

Word of the day: bird (hot girl)



Much Love,

Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb