So I went away for a few days...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Taunton
May 24th 2011
Published: May 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post


While the cat is away...



I have just come back after a week on holidays in Denmark, and things have been progressing at lightening speed in the garden! I was literally in shock when I visited the sunny side of the garden which has now erupted with life (like the Icelandic volcano!).


Getting greener!



The mixed salads and rockets have taken this corner by storm. So much so that I had to harvest some for my lunch! Last years rocket has even come into flower - I'm fairly sure you're not meant to let this happen, but it's a sign of progress - right? The spinach is fighting for space next to the mixed leaves, but I think it might be a little early to harvest this mighty giant! The mixed flowers (must make sure not to eat this!) has burst out of it’s rows, but no sign of colour yet!


Root veggies!



The delicate early shoots of onions are carrots are starting to show, and some small lines of herbs are starting to push their way through the soil. Basil and thyme (I think) are the first pushing through but no sigh of mint or oregano yet - fingers crossed!

Some of the "rescued" seeds from the organic farm are also doing well - I have squash and some beetroot starting to peep up from the soil in small pots also. Maybe I did learn a thing or two about planting while working out there! These will need to be planted soon I fear!


It's not all good news



Some stories aren’t so positive… there are some beans that have been fighting hard against some form of attack - I'm thinking it might be slugs. The beans in the trays which initially started really well have been reduced to leafless stalks - and I fear should have been put into the ground earlier. The others close to the wall are doing much better, but have some scars of previous battles.

On a more positive side there are signs of life from the parsnip section of the garden (which is well in need of a weeding!) and we have our first potato shoot coming up in the rows (yipee - I'm Irish and I CAN grow spuds!!).

Someone

loves the 'shrooms

I have heard in my absence that the mushrooms, which have been silently growing under the stairs have not only produced but have been harvested and eaten - no photographic evidence unfortunately! I'll have to keep a close eye on them and try and get a photo before they are massacred again!


This week...



A few tasks lay ahead of us this week (maybe tomorrow). We have to try and get everything that's in shallow pots into the ground. My "moveable" veggie patch will not survive much longer without some deeper soil I fear so I must transpose them. The weeding needs to begin, now that we can identify what is plant (well i hope so) and what is an invader!


Attracting the wildlife!



Earlier on, while thinking about the blog I did see a small house sparrow come and visit the garden. I'm thinking about making a small simple bird table (maybe hanging above the veggies) to attract some more wildlife to our little slice of the wild here in suburbia! Let the games begin!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb