Becoming a bird detective...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Taunton
May 2nd 2011
Published: May 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

How it started…

In the last few months I've really been trying to get into "birding" (I do love the way they turn nouns into verbs over here!). There are a lot of birds about and as a result a lot of jobs in the birding field, so as a sounds career investment, I decided I should start to devote some time to swatting up. It all started when some wonderful friends who I met in Limerick gave me presents of bird books before I left. That's where the ball starts rolling. Earlier this year, I decided to do a course on bird identification run by the BTO for beginners in February in south Devon in a fantastic spot called Slapton Ley. The course was brilliant, and armed you with the necessary skills to feel confident to go out and start increasing your bird knowledge. Over the weekend, we did some classroom sessions going through the theory of birds and bird song, and lots of field session (very early morning too!) to help us get our eye in and start recognising the birds by sight and then by sound.

Where to next?

I found
Taunton Bird WalkTaunton Bird WalkTaunton Bird Walk

A small map of the bird walk I have been doing around Taunton
the course very helpful and couldn't wait to get out and start bird watching and listening - or bird waiting as I like to call it! I decided I didn't want to immerse myself in too many birds and to visit some local site to try and familarise myself with some more birds. Thankfully within a short distance of my house are a number of "urban treasures". A combination of local green spaces, known as Freeze Hill, Long Run Meadow and Silk Mills are right on my doorstep and offer a sanctuary for local wildlife. I choose this area for a number of reasons. Firstly I could walk to it from the house, it contained a variety of habitats (hedgerows, allotments, open fields, an orchard, a small lake with reed beds, and the river Tone) and as it was relatively close to the town and I didn't expect to be too over whelmed by the bird content! (I'm only starting!)

From the start of March I did an early morning walk (between 6.30-8.30) about once a week. The great thing about heading out at this time of year is that you only encounter the resident birds, which gives you a chance to get familiar with them before the migrants come in and make things even more confusing! From day one I was astounded at the number and variety of birds I came across as the sun rose on the cold mornings. It was a great time to see the birds, the trees were still bare, making it easy to get a good view of the twitching little critters. I started by trying to identify the birds visually (as this is easier, at times!). Any birds that were behaving (sitting still!) I would get my bins (short for binoculars) on them and try to take note of as many features as possible. Colour, beak, legs, size, shape, "jizz" or pecular little things/actions that give a bird away. I started with the common, easy to see birds, sparrows, robins, blackbirds, blue tit, great tit, dunnock and chaffinch - the typical garden visitors. I usually came across these first, as I walked off the road, along the allotments and towards the orchard. They would be flitting between houses and into the hedges. From there the habitat changed slightly, move mature trees in the hedgerow, dense bramble scrub along the train line and
Next box monitoringNext box monitoringNext box monitoring

Two small blue tit eggs laid in a beautiful nest of moss, feathers and hair
open grassy areas. Here I would typically encounter a song thrush signing loudly from the top of a tree, defending his territory. Sometimes I would find goldfinch and the odd greenfinch in the trees and the odd starling.

As I moved out towards the small lake/pond I would encouter ducks (mallard), swans, and the odd canada goose. In the reeds I've head the song of the reed warbler and on ocassion rose a green woodpecker who was feeding in the grass. Early on in the spring I came across a noisey flock of redwing perched in the trees and what I think was a fieldfare feeding in the grass near the pond. Now I moved to a different habitat, the river bank, which offers a variety of different birds again. Having heard many reports of kingfisher on this stretch of river, I really had my hopes up to see this elusive but striking little bird. Thankfully I was not disappointed and have seen (and heard) him on several occasions as he moves along the river hunting. I'm hoping that I might get the chance to see him stationary at some point and observe his full glory! The river has also treated me to grey wagtail and dipper, two real treats. I spotted the wagtail feeding in some exposed rocks at the side of the river and the dipper flying low close to the water. Along the river I have watched many tree creepers searching for insects on the tree trunks.

On the river bank, while standing quietly waiting for birds to make a sound or show themselves I have been startled by a noisy cumbersome bird landing in the trees. To my surprise this bird began attempting to drum or peck. A greater spotted woodpecker had landed in the trees next to me and began trying to make his characteristic drumming noise high up on the trunk. It's funny to watch him try different pieces of wood, looking for the best sound and on occasion failing completely! This sound is what he uses to attract the female, as opposed to a song like other birds. Thankfully it can be heard from quiet a distance, although I haven't heard them in the last few weeks, they must have paired up and are taking care of chicks now.

As I've wandered along the river towards the road I have come across a group of long-tailed tits pooching about in the dense hedges. These wonderful birds are really distinctive with there pinky tummy and disproportionally long tails and seem quiet unaware of your presence! I've also spotted the wonderful striking bullfinch with his bright orange underside and black head, a sight to behold! On occasion while walking along the river I've seen buzzards and cormorants flying over my little site. Taunton is a very popular spot for gulls, and on occasion I've spotted heron gulls visit the pond or spotted them flying over head.

Further afield

Beyond the delights of Taunton I've started to pick up some birds of different habitats. I'm involved in a project to monitor birds nest boxes in two wooded coombes (or small valleys) on the Quantock Hills. As the habitat changes, I have to come to grips which another selection of birds. In the last few weeks I've had the chance to watch (but mostly listen) some wonderful visiting migrants. In the upland oak woods, I've encountered wood warbler with it's song resembling a spinning coin, pied flycatcher, the well known cuckoo and chiff chaff and willow warbler. Sometimes, there are birds that are almost impossible to identify by signt along, ie. there are literally identical! For example the chiff chaff and willow warbler - but as soon as they open their beaks to sing, there is no doubt in what you've encountered. Out on the open health, with some help from some knowledgeable birders I have had the chance to listen to and observe red start, white throat, stone chat, yellow hammer and what I think was a dartford warbler (just a quick glimpse, need to go back and have a second look!).

You are always on my mind!

At the moment, I seem to have birds on the mind constantly! While working on the organic farm I've been listening to the sounds around me and trying to figure them out. While setting up the irrigation system for our 5,000 onions, I heard a beautiful warbling song coming from the surrounding hedgerows. At lunch time I went to investigate and after some sneaking about I managed to get a look at the maker of this wonderful call - a black cap. The song of the black cap is very similar to that of the garden warbler - and requires a very experienced birder to tell the difference, but on sight (if you can get a look at them!) they are very different. With the foliage rapidly appearing the trees and bushes, it's becoming increasing difficult, but I'm rising to the challenge, and spending more time sneaking about!

Counting birds

To expose myself to as many bird opportunities as possible I got in touch with the BTO to find out about assisting with some bird surveys that are going on in the area. They put me in touch with a local birder who does various different types of surveys across Somerset. Thankfully she agreed to allow me to tag along and hopefully learn a few more birds. We met early (I'm getting used to these early starts!) on a misty morning in the centre of Bridgewater to do a breeding bird survey. The survey area covered some housing estates, the banks of the canal and an industrial estate. Possibly not the most attractive or obvious bird watching location, but definitely worthwhile for me in terms of learning. The survey began with counting numerous chirping sparrows calling from the eaves of houses and dense hedgerows as we wandered through sleepy housing estates towards the canal. We spent some time looking over garden walls to bird feeders and down narrow lanes between houses. On the banks of the canal we were treated to a bigger variety of birds including blackbird, robin, and the scratchy sedge warbler. I was really starting to tune into the different sounds and as we walking along the canal the song of one bird really struck me, and bothered me at the same time. It was something I'd heard before, but not since my course down in Slapton. Initially I ruled it out, thinking it was just an energetic garden bird, but after a few close encounters I was sure it was something else. We stood patiently and listened and tried to get a look at this vocal small bird who was not too keen on exposing himself. Finally after some waiting he appeared and I managed to get a quick look. Indeed it was a cettis warbler - with his explosive and distinctive call. My birding confidence exploded! The rest of the survey offered me the opportunity to differentiate between herring gulls and lesser black back gulls, which were in abundance throughout the industrial estate. We also came across a chirping flock of goldfinches who were feeding on a small triangle of cut grass in the middle of the concrete industrial jungle. What a treat - there truly is wildlife everywhere!

Another survey I assisted on was out in the rural surrounds of Wivelscombe - about 9 miles from Taunton. Again we met early in the centre of town and made our way to the survey area which composed of open meadows and delightful ancient green lanes. Wandering down the green lanes I listened to the morning calls of various birds with the chiff chaff, chaffinch and wren dominating the chorus! As we progressed we came across two small tits going about their business feeding in a tree. Carefully we moved around trying to get a good look at these small greyish birds with black markings on their head. At this moment I'm still not sure what we were looking at, but it was either marsh or willow tit. They are exceptionally difficult to differentiate between, maybe next time! The birds weren't behaving this morning, sitting tight in the trees and bushes, reluctant to expose themselves. On occasion we got fleeting glimpses of small brown jobbies, and the odd blue tit. The growing foliage does make it very difficult to id the birds, hence the importance of developing id through song and calls. I've still a long way to go!

Detective work

I'll finish my ramblings with my most recent bird revelation. I assisted on a bird walk run by the National Trust yesterday out at Selworthy Green near Minehead. A group of 21 people met early (5.30am!!) and lead by an experienced birder we walked through the woods and on to the heath listening to the dawn chorus and trying to memorise the songs we heard. After the walk we discussed birds over breakfast (very typical!) and the topic of the nightingale came up. They are migrants to the UK and next in dense thickets or scrub and are rarely seen but have a distictive and beautiful call. After this conversation I decided to try and swat up on the nightingale and used the BTO and RSPB site to review the call, in case I may at some time come across it. I had heard from a few different sources that a local Somerset Wildlife Trust site was a good place to go and try to hear them. I looked up the site and planned a trip for today, with another early start.

For some reason, I'm not exactly sure why I remembered something I had recorded a few weeks ago. While I was out surveying for otters on the canal between Taunton and Bridgewater I had heard a sound/song that I didn't recognise. At this stage, I tend to notice the songs I don't recognise and try to lock into them and figure out what's going on. At the time I was looking for evidence of otters but decided to take a quick recording of the birds sound on my phone and maybe ask someone to try and id it at a later stage. I dug out my phone and listened to what I'd recorded and compared it to what was on-line. I wasn't sure, as the recording wasn't very good and only contained a few notes but I had a small suspicion that it could possibly be a nightingale! That settled my plans, I had to go back out and see if I could listen to (or even see!) the song again! I looked back over my otter records and figured out where it was I heard it.

Another early start was required, so off I went on my bike with my bins and phone to try and locate this mysterious bird. At about 7.30 I arrived at the spot but couldn't hear anything. Knowing that birds are quiet territorial I figured that the bird in question if defending territory couldn't be far away. I decided to wander along the canal and listen. Low and behold I heard the call again, but it was quiet far away and difficult to get close to. There was a dense hedge, a high barbed gate and railway line in the way! This would take some detective work. I back tracked to a small green lane where a public footpath was signposted. I, abandoned my bike in the hedge (forgot my lock) and started to wander through fields and across gates. After disturbing lots of cute baby rabbits in the open meadows I came to the spot where I thought I should be able to hear him call. I crept about next to the hedge and under the trees and luckily managed to get close to the singing bird.

He was indeed buried in dense scrub, as expected but was singing loudly and confidently. I got my phone out and made another few recordings. The early start paid off, and I stood and listened to this amazing sound in the morning sunshine, with no cares in the world. He stopped calling around 8.20 and I headed off on my bike along the canal for a celebratory breakfast. After some comparisons to the on-line recordings, I am confident that my mystery bird is indeed a nightingale. My birding confidence and "self teaching" is improving.

A big thank you to everyone who has helped me with this process - long may it continue! I hope that I can impart some of my knowledge to other soon too! I have already tried on the east coast of Ireland, pointing out some sea birds to some unsuspecting friends!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb