Firsts and Thirsts


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
January 18th 2012
Published: January 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Firsts first:



I went to my first Bop! That's code for a college party at a club, the theme was "Children's Books". Typical, right? At William and Mary we had themes like "Wizards & Sluts."

I studied in the Bodleian. I went to this special room a million stairs up called Duke Humphrey's Library. It's incredible. Rich, dark wood stretches up and up like tree trunks that grow ancient tombs. All of the books look as though they could be spellbooks and you aren't even allowed to bring pens in. It's abolutely gorgeous, and the books reach all the way to the ceiling which is painted with latin and other stuff. Perfect study room, makes me feel like I could be doing important scholarly work. And not just check facebook 😉

I walked through Christ Church meadow on my way to college. It's these gently rolling hills bespeckled with sweet cows and ducks. The gates there are very odd and are hard to wlak through because they were meant to fence in the SHEEP that originally were charged with lawncare.

I had my first tutorial! Doctor Goulimari was wearing Uggs which made me doubt her intelligence at first but she turned out to be completely brilliant (shocker). She liked my essay and said that it was exactly where it should be and that I have good focus and close reading (basically the proudest I've been ever). We discussed the work and she was so well-versed in the criticism and the text, she was practically quoting both extemporaneously. I was like DAMN. I felt stupid but I'm sure she's used to students being dumb around her.

My other tutor I accidently stood up. Yes, you read that correctly: I failed to attend an engagement with a certified intellectual and instead left her waiting for me outside of a bookshop for an hour. Oooops!

Kiran Kestenbaum is now in London so I expect to see her within the week! That's very exciting I love that girl. Also would love to make a stop around Hemel to see Marryanne's family, it's been over 4 years!

I'm going to try and join the dance team I think! There's also a wine-drinking group with undiscerning taste and perhaps wild ways as indicated by their name : The Bacchants. I think I could find my sort of people there as well...



Thirsts:



There's a lot of pubs here and I want to try them all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb