It's the most wonderful time...of the year (c) Staples commercial


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
July 28th 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today was the first day of classes
I have done pretty well so far considering the lack of alarm clock in my life at the present time. My body clock woke me up @ 6:09am, snoozed my clock and got up again at about 7:45am. Breakfast is from 8-845am, classes from 9:10am - Noon. Lunch @ 12:30p.

Prof. Watson introduced the course, and told us that if you miss more than two lectures without a valid reason, you are kicked out of the course, and you have to go home.

We did an introduction in the course, which is called: Rights, Freedoms and Responsibilities in Criminal Law: Historical Origins and New Directions in England and Canada - pretty easy day today.

Had lunch, then went off into the city with the girls - got my sim card for my phone and "topped it up" (meaning put money in the card), because it is pay as you go.

I will email you all my #, text only please. Unless you all want to pay an arm and a leg.

Walked around the city centre - took pics of the Sheldonian Theatre and surrounding area, Blackwells (a
Queen Elizabeth IQueen Elizabeth IQueen Elizabeth I

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elizabeth_I_of_England
book store in Oxford), went to Argos (similar to Consumers Distributing) so the girls can get a kettle for their cup a soup at dinner time.

I am telling you, I am SO glad to have brought alot of cup a soup. The cheapest I've seen so far here is about 0.49p, which is about a dollar. For a cup a soup? FORGETABOUTIT! I got mine at no frills for $0.32 (about 0.15p) thanks!

Only in Oxford story
Celia, Chriselle and I went to go find a church to go to mass yesterday, and so we went to St. Michael's beside where we lived, and there were two people praying and what not. The first lady, had a baby carriage beside her, she turns it around, and inside was a doll. But she was treating it like it was a REAL BABY! We all gave each other the eye silently, to signal like.. "did you see that? what in the world?"

As soon as she started talking, you can tell there's something not fully right with her. Then..Allison and I watched her play with the baby, adjust its position to make it more comfortable and fix its
Celia BedeliaCelia BedeliaCelia Bedelia

during breakfast in the Dining Hall @ Jesus College (Portrait of Queen Bess in the background)
hair. WOW.

We had enough self control not to burst out laughing in the church.

-=-

Anyway, on to what we've all been waiting for, pictures. I'm on top of the updating because we haven't gotten into the swing of things in terms of classes yet, but once we do, it'll decrease. Just so you know.








Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

AllisonAllison
Allison

You are SO not taking a picture right now
Ship StreetShip Street
Ship Street

I know there's lots of this street, but we're here alot, because that door is the entrance and exit that is the closest to our rooms.
Inside BlackwellsInside Blackwells
Inside Blackwells

16000 books? or was it 16 million? I dunno


Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb