Blenheim Palace


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
July 23rd 2007
Published: July 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

We just got back from Blenheim Palace. It was pretty neat. We did a short guided tour of the palace; they don't let you see as much as I would like and they didn't let you take pictures which sucked. There was another "tour" type of a thing going on upstairs but I didn't go to it-- and everyone told me it wasn't worth going to anyway. Instead after our tour I walked around the grounds of the palace. It was huge!! There was a "secret" garden, even though there were signs all over the place pointing to it, which was really pretty. I think my favorite thing was the rose garden. It was a massive circle with a statue in the center. There were rows upon rows of roses around this circle, and each row was a different color- red, pink, white, orange. It was so pretty. Then I walked down to the waterfall and then along the lake. I just wanted to pitch a tent and live on the grounds. Not even in the house, just on the grounds. I did get soaked walking around though, because it is yet again raining. I'm not sure if everyone back home is aware of how bad the flooding is here, but it is really bad. I guess it has already done more damage (money wise) than Katrina did. The Thames is threatening to overflow, and a whole bunch of other rivers already have. Oh boy, gotta love the rain! I just called the Credit Union and got my money situation figured out after the lady lectured me. I was annoyed with her but I was just glad it got done. I have one more book to read, St. Joan. It is good so far because it is the story of Joan of Arc. Then I have two more 2-page papers to write and my final paper. Tomorrow I will be in London ALLLLL day. Literally, all day. I am leaving the college at 6:45am to get into London for the 9:30am tour of the Globe Theater. Then at 12:30pm we have a tour of the National Theater. We have about four hours to kinda wander around until the play that night at 7:30. I guess this play is 3 hours and 10 minutes long, so we won't get back into Oxford until 1:30am!! It'll be a long, but fun, day. Off to read. Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb