Looking for Harry Potter


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
January 1st 2007
Published: March 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Getting to Oxford took quite a long time, as the train must have made about 15 stops. I got to see quite a bit of the middle of England though!

Once there I went exploring as best I could, since everything had closed and it was dark and cold. That night I met some interesting people in the hostel, including a guy from Zimbabwe, who told me of the country's condition and how his friends, family, everyone has left. He was going around Europe trying to decide basically where he wants to live and try to make a new life. Also met Larry, a very nice British guy, who was originally from Oxford and as such on the second day took me on a tour of the city.

I of course spent a lot of time wandering around the various colleges of the university. Unfortunately the one my sister had studied in was closed, as were most because of the time of year. The campuses are absolutely beautiful though, and one really does get the impression that Harry Potter might be just around the corner! Other than that I was trying to get sorted and line up some viewings
Another fun house Another fun house Another fun house

Too bad I think it was a mobile phone store.
of potential places to live in London but was unsuccessful. Also got in touch with Annette, my friend Alf's cousin, in London whom I was going to stay with once I got there.

I would love to go back to Oxford, and really Edinburgh and York in the summer as it would be so much nicer than braving the cold. The hostel in Oxford had no heat and I spent two nights wearing not one but 3 sweaters, as well as two pairs of pants, to bed.

On the evening of Wed. the 3rd I was finally off to London and sad to be done with traveling for a bit but very excited to get there and get settled.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb