A Foreign Thanksgiving


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
November 23rd 2006
Published: December 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday, and I am not spending it with my family back at home. I'm not catching up with all my high school friends either. Instead, I'm here in jolly old England with the most ridiculous group of people I've ever been friends with. Here's the thing though, I think we've become a family. I know it sounds cheesy, but last night was so amazing. Our dining hall at St Peter's College made Thanksgiving dinner for us. Yes it was a day early, but the dining hall was booked for tonight. Oh well. So, it was a delicious meal, but definitely not like home. But what was amazing was being surrounded by the people I've come to rely on as my home away from home. We sat there and ate...and ate...and ate and ate. And laughed...a lot. We took funny pictures and drank lots of wine. It was a fabulous evening.

So, for today there have been very few signs of Thanksgiving traditions, with the exception of the three apple pies we made this afternoon. Tonight we are eating all sorts of yummy desserts (apple pies, brownies, chocolate cake, cupcakes, cheesecake, and fruit) while watching a seasonal movie. We rented "It's a Wonderful Life" and "Bridget Jones' Diary," and we have "Love Actually." Not sure how Bridget Jones fits in, but that's okay. I'd love to go out tonight, but I know I shouldn't. But, we'll have fun staying in, watching movies, and being a "family."

I come back to the states in about 15 days. It's so close, it's so soon. I'm so nervous to come home. Have I changed? Have my friends and family back home changed? What if I don't fit in quite like I used to? How the hell am I going to get all of these papers written before I leave?! That is the real question...haha.

Anyways, I'm thankful for this opportunity, for being in Oxford, and meeting all of these amazing people. I'm thankful for being in a triple because there is always someone to talk to. I'm thankful for Mandy, Ashley, Cate, and Liz because Lord knows I needed good friends here. I'm thankful for being able to legally drink...haha...shallow but true. I'm thankful for my friends and family back home who've done a good job at keeping in touch with me. I'm thankful for being financially able to go on trips while here...Rome, Paris, Dublin, Madrid.

Anyways, I love Thanksgiving and I love this holiday and I love my life.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb