One day to lift off!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Oxfordshire » Oxford
June 9th 2005
Published: June 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, my bags are packed (almost!) and I'm ready to go (with butterflies in my stomach), leaving on a jet plane at 2.30pm tomorrow! So excited and not sure what to expect. Will the Sargent Adventure Camp turned out to be Brat camp? Will the Director be more Sargent Major than Ronald McDonald?

Well, for those of you who are interested I am heading to a tiny place in New Hampshire about 2hours north west of Boston in between two towns - Hancock and Peterborough. The camp is owned by Boston University and is set in about 800 acres of land with 24 miles of trails for hiking, mountain biking and all sorts of activities. There is even a small lake called Halfmoon Pond and a small river that runs through the land called the Nubanusit River. Most of the staff live in cabins or yurhts with the kids.

After my arrival tomorrow I will have two days of wildnerness first aid training and if I am not eaten by a bear (do they have bears in New Hampshire?) I will then have three weeks of military style training. If I survive then and only then do I get the opportunity to spend the rest of my summer with a bunch of Americans aged 10-14. Yipee!



Advertisement



10th June 2005

Good luck: Live Free or die
caz, have a great time in New Hampshire. Keep in touch. Maria and Dirk - Maria
13th July 2005

Camp interest
My 14 yr old sort of spoiled kid is due to finish his week this Friday....will he be transformed?

Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0666s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb