Dead Authors


Advertisement
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So as I may have mentioned before, we have no itinerary. I have complied a list of authors' graves that I would like to visit and even though I have a pretty good memory for dead British authors, I'd like y'all to let me know if I left anyone off.

Here's the list as it stands now:

John Milton
Jane Austen
Charles Dickens
Bram Stoker
Mary Shelley
Elizabeth Gaskell
The Brontë Sisters
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Joseph Conrad
T.S. Eliot
Sylvia Plath
George Orwell
Lewis Carroll
Geoffrey Chaucer
William Shakespeare

Non-author types:

Anne Boleyn
Sir Isaac Newton
Charles Darwin

A lot of you gave some great suggestions for places to see before we left but I simply can't remember them all. I'm open to seeing more than just graves while we're here so please leave any other suggestions in the comments for this post. I think we will definitely be doing Westminster Abbey (especially since it knocks off a lot of the grave viewing requirements), The Tower of London and The National Gallery. I'm also considering talking the rest of the group into the Sherlock Holmes Museum and Stratford-upon-Avon. There are several walking tours that caught my eye including the Jack the Ripper Walking Tour and the Beatles 'In My Life' Walk. But this is an interactive trip and I'm depending on you guys to steer me in the right direction! Pub suggestions are also welcome.

Advertisement



30th June 2009

Grave Matters
How about William Blake? Gerard Manley Hopkins? Virginia Wolfe? Rudyard Kipling? Roald Dahl? I am very fond of the Victoria and Albert Museum because it is not so crowded as some of the others and the collection is impressive. Tea at the Dorchester Hotel is fun. Skip the changing of the guard!!!
30th June 2009

Re: Grave Matters
So Virginia Wolfe's ashes were scattered, thus, no grave. William Blake is buried at Westminster Abbey. Hopkins is in Dublin. Kipling is also in Westminster Abbey and Dahl is buried in the Saint Peter and Saint Paul Churchyard in Buckingham... don't know if we'll make it but that looks like a good one. Thanks for all the other great suggestions Aunt Bridget! Tell Maggie she'll be expected to carve a Moby Dick watermelon at Thanksgiving.
30th June 2009

St. Jame's Park
St. Jame's Park near Buckingham Palace is a beautiful walk. Maggie recently ate at a neat Belgian restaurant named "Belgo's." Covent Gardens is very fun. Theater in London is transforming. Since you are staying with a native, she can probably give way better tips. Maggie just suggested a climb to the top of St. Paul's. She did that on her trip this past fall. She went with her Classics friends to study Hadrian's Wall in the north of England. (Hadrian's Wall is too far out of the way--maybe save that for another time.)
7th July 2009

Greatly relieved!
Just got back from Tahoe and was catching up on your blog(great, by the way)and was a little concerned about all the grave sites you "needed" to see. But this entry has set my mind at ease. J/K Hope you all are having a great trip!! Hello to the rents and to John. Timmye

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb