Bambrugh Castle


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Northumberland » Morpeth
August 19th 2008
Published: August 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bamburgh Castle


Since Raph had been neglecting me by doing horrible things such as working, on her day off she decided to take me to a castle because I'm easily entertained. And off to Bamburgh we went.

Bamburgh Castle's about an hour and a half north of where we're staying. Again it's completely different to the castles I've been to as it's a lot more modern then then the others. It's more of a 18th-19th Century Castle that still has some rich bastards living in it. Imagine that, living in a Castle that's open to the public.
Sure you've got your own privacy behind locked doors, but you can't even take full advantage of this awesome castle.
If I lived there, I would totally go to the top of the tower every day and call out Monty Python insults in an outrageous French accent such as:

"You empty headed animal food trough wiper! I fart in your general direction! Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries!"

The Castle itself was really well preserved. They've shot a few movies there such as Macbeth and Becket and some shots from Elizabeth. It was quite expensive to
The Gate WayThe Gate WayThe Gate Way

I look like I've got a mean belly
enter £7 ($18) and you weren't allowed to take photos inside which has been an annoying point for many of my trips. There was some really cool stuff though mainly their selection of weapons. I've never seen so many different swords, pistols, muskets, spears, armour etc in my entire life. I wanted to rob them so badly. There was this one sword there that looked seriously impossible to hold. It must've been held by Andre the Giants descendants or something.

They also had shit loads of plates and which was pretty boring. I mean really, if you see a nice plate you're like "oh what a splendid looking plate" and that's it. No-one really gives a fuck about analysing the different colours or patterns.

We spent awhile there then headed back as we were off to watch the 'Football' at the pub.

Newcastle vs Man U


So English people are rather well known for their following of 'Football,' I now understand how big it actually is. Sky Sports over here is incredibly expensive, more then any other channel, so everyone goes down to their local pub to watch the game.
Raph wanted us to leave kind of
Bamburgh CastleBamburgh CastleBamburgh Castle

Smile Raph!
early so we could get seats but yeah, didn't happen.
We headed down to the Hunters Lodge (which is the shithole I talked about recently) to be greated by a room full of sweat, CO2 and people. First game of the seasons a big one.

I freaked out for a little bit as I get quite claustrophobic around lots of people in a confined space but eventually after Raph got us a round we managed to find a standing spot to watch the match. I didn't notice it last time, but the pub has like 10 TV's. Crazy.

So we watched the game. They kicked the ball around. Fell on the ground and tried to milk penalties and had words with the ref. Basically they played the 'Football.' (I'm saying 'Football' because everyone looks at me like I've got Down Syndrome when I say Soccer and I've be told that if I say the 'S' word at the pub then I'm on my own).

The crowd in the pub were awesome. The guys behind me kept yelling "FOOK OFF!" "BASTARD" "YA FOOKING BELL END." It was fucking hilarious. After about 20minutes of it I think I'd heard those words more then I've ever heard them in my entire life.
There was one point where the guy said something like "OH GO FOOK YOUR MUTHOR." hahahaha.

Newcastle scored first and everyone cheered like that had won the lottery. About 2 minutes later Man U answered with a goal which shut them up.
There was this little kid in the pub who was wearing a Man U shirt and the entire time they gave him shit and he kept asking his mum to tell them off. haha. It was funny as.

Game ended in a draw 1-1. The whole pub erupted into cheer. Apparently drawing with Man U is a good thing. Raph had predicted a 6-0 win to them, so I can see why they were happy.

So that was my first English Football Pub Experience. Totally going again just so I can laugh at all the comments they make.

That's me.









Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

SMILE!SMILE!
SMILE!

It was fucking windy.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb