DaY 11 - Haworth to Thirsk


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » North Yorkshire » Thirsk
May 9th 2014
Published: May 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Last night I saw a bit of a scruffy side of Haworth and reading pamphlets etc. in the hostel realised this was where the Bronte's lived and were brought up and so decided to visit the more touristy part of Haworth and see where they lived. I was only outside their house but all looked good - they lived at the top of a steep cobbled street. From there my route was Keighley, Ripon and onto Thirsk.

Leaving Haworth though the rain started again and whilst it stopped after a period of time I was soaked for the 2nd time in 24 hours.

Soaking, soaking, soaked to the skin

Soaked on the outside, soaked on the in.

Emily Bronte is soaked

I am soaked

That person over there is soaked

The American is soaked

A Yorkshire soaking

The streets are grey and soaked

The roofs are soaked

The reservoir man is very busy in his opera hall.



At Keighley I stopped at a Sainsbury's and had a lovely cup of hot chocolate and dried out whilst outside the rain stopped and the sun came out and all was good.

The cycle through to Thirsk was good and smooth. 2 Notable things though 1 was the RAF camp there that had top level security on the road etc and inside were these huge golf ball like structures that I found out later were listening devices. The 2nd thing was cycling quite fast on the road the car in front stopped and there was a dog running loose in the road - it was a black Labrador and I helped the driver get it into his car. Only later did I wonder if it was his dog ? Very bizarre though - for my pains the fellow hardly even thanked me - he just sped off?

Passing through Ripon like Bakewell I had been here before so it was vaguely familiar - I stopped there and had a pie I bought earlier in the big market square they have. A good looking town that looks as if it functions well and has something about itself. About 10 or so miles onto Thirsk and flat so about 6.30pm I pull into Thirsk checked into the hotel I am in for the night met my friend Martin and had some food and had a wander round Thirsk. Again a good little town that is very similar to Ripon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb