The future's bright but the future's not orange.


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
March 19th 2014
Published: March 19th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I phoned Orange to cancel my contract at the end of the current payment period (i.e. April 17th). After that I will be on a pay as you go contract as though it were once again the early 2000s. I bought a brand new, unlocked, totally non-smart phone a couple of weeks ago in preparation for travelling during which I expect the item to undergo various types of duress and didn't want a fancy £200+ portable computer being trashed or nicked in the process. The Nokia 105 doesn't even have a camera, just Snake and Sudoku. When moving from country to country it seemed sensible to have an unlocked phone in order to buy local sim cards so that Erika and I can keep in contact when apart without having to spend an arseload on roaming charges. What good is a Lumia 1020 in the hills of Nepal anyway? It hasn't even been a loss not having 24/7 access to Facebook or Reddit or Gmail when trudging the daily grind in Norwich.

Advertisement



19th March 2014

Welcome to my world.
What is a Smartphone? What is a Lumia 1020? I remember Snake!

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb