3 Halloweens and a Park


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Norfolk » Norwich
November 1st 2007
Published: November 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

The CreationThe CreationThe Creation

Yes, that is pumpkin vomit.
Halloween. One of the few times you can look absolutely ridiculous and get away with it. Although it is in its current form a truly American holiday, the British get into it as well!

We started our festivities Monday night with some pumpkin carving! We produced a truly grotesque masterpiece that is still sitting in our window. I just hope it doesn't start to stink...

Then Tuesday night was the Halloween LCR (the LCR is the night club on campus). So me and the rest of my flat donned our getups, ate some no-bake cookies (which I have gotten them addicted to), took pictures, and headed for the Union. We danced the night away to Halloween classics such as Thriller and Monster Mash (plus the usual dance club stuff). After the party was over, the Christian Union was handing out free hot chocolate! Excellent!

Last night was the International Student Society's Halloween party at Indulge, a nightclub in town. They rented the place out- so it was only ISS members in there! They decorated and the bar tenders were wearing costumes. We had a good time and I met even more new people!

Today I was ready for a change of pace. I got up and worked on my last midterm paper, submitted another one of my papers, had lunch, and headed for the park. Eaton Park is about a 2 minute bike ride from campus. It has everything, playing fields (including Pitch and Putt- a short course version of golf), a formal garden, and a model yacht pond. When it was warmer kids would go out and motor their little model boats around. Very British if you ask me!

Tomorrow I head of to Edinburgh. There are 120 international students going- which should make for an interesting time! The downside to the trip is the amount of time it takes to get there. 9 1/2 hours on a bus. Oh well, I'll be napping- and I have plenty of practice at napping on public transportation!

Look for another update Monday or Tuesday and keep sending questions!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The GangThe Gang
The Gang

L-R: Me, Sean, Ian, Tina, Kate
At the LCRAt the LCR
At the LCR

K.K., Me, and Thi
Night 2: IndulgeNight 2: Indulge
Night 2: Indulge

Mandi, Gayle, and Yours Truly
Me and StephanieMe and Stephanie
Me and Stephanie

I met her on the Cambridge trip. Remember?
My Trusty SteedMy Trusty Steed
My Trusty Steed

As promised a long time ago, here's a picture of my bike!


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb