Liverpool Part II


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
May 24th 2012
Published: June 8th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The GrapesThe GrapesThe Grapes

John and I sitting where the Beatles once sat.
I woke up the next morning to loud banging at our apartment door. After John yelling at me to answer, I finally rolled off of the couch I was sleeping on (I didn’t even think of the option of someone else answering the door) to see who it was. It turned out that none of us had set alarms at all, and that we were supposed to have checked out an hour earlier. I told the woman that we would be out soon, and we all fell asleep again. Eventually, we all got up and turned back in our keys. After the slow morning, it was time to be productive.

I lead everyone back to Albert Dock and to the Beatles museum. While they explored the museum, which I had already been to, I explored the city. I went around a bunch of parts that I hadn’t been to before, which all confirmed my love for that city. When they were done I met them, and we all headed to a pub close to Matthew Street to eat. After a good meal (we were all very excited because Liverpool prices were so cheap compared to London prices), we headed to
CardsCardsCards

Sam, Adrienne and Hollie playing cards at the Grapes.
The Grapes. The Grapes is a pub that the Beatles used to hang out in after shows, that is just down the block from the Cavern Club. We all found a table in the corner, and we later found out that where John and I were sitting was just where the Beatles used to sit. We ended up playing cards for a lot longer than expected, and had to rush to the Cavern Club to get a good 45 minutes in before we had to head to our train.

The Cavern Club was just as fun as the night before. There was just one man singing and playing the guitar this time. He played mostly Beatles’ songs, so we all got to sing along. We left in time to go buy some snacks for the train and then went to the train station. But there was a problem. I thought that our train left at 10:45, so we would arrive back in London just at midnight. In reality, the train left at 20:45, which is 8:45pm. My math skills had failed me, and everyone who had traveled with me. We had about 15 minutes of panic as we all
The Cavern ClubThe Cavern ClubThe Cavern Club

Adrienne, Sam and I at the Cavern Club
ran around the station trying to find solutions. After that, we realized that we either had to take a bus and arrive home around 6am the next morning, or just spend another night in Liverpool.

We went to the nearest hotel, which was a Holiday Inn, to see how expensive it would be to all split a room. I went in alone, and gave him my sob story, and we ended up getting a room for just as cheap as the night before. We all settled in the room and ate our snacks, and ended up playing more cards. The night ended up being even better than the one before. We returned to the Cavern Club and even went to a student night at a different pub. We had a great time, and none of us regretted missing the train.

The next morning I woke up to Hollie yelling that we had 20 minutes to our train. In reality, we were already 20 minutes late for our train. Again, no one had set an alarm, and we had missed another train. We decided to just take our time and arrive at the train station once we were all ready to go. The rest of the journey went very well. We got on our third attempt at a train ride successfully, and made it back to London before 5pm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Pop WorldPop World
Pop World

John, me, Adrienne and Sam at Pop World after we had already missed one train back to London.
Fashion Fashion
Fashion

Adrienne and I supporting bad fashion choices of boots and shorts, but at least staying comfortable.


20th June 2012

Missing the train !
Hi you guys, I was born & bred in Liverpool. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your short stay. I wish you would have ventured a bit further a field than the Beatles Quater, we have so much to offer. You would find other pubs and bars with so many people to talk to you. We call Mathew Street, Mithew Street..... many of the stories you hear about the 60's are just made up. I know ---- I remember those days. Yes I might be old but I've seen all the best bands. I drink in many of the pubs in the city and I tell tourists to stay away from the Albert Dock, go into the city, up Bold Street and Renshaw Street, you would luv it. Hope you visit us again soon and make sure you keep looking at your watches, or do what a lot of students do.......... stay here ! Regards....... John.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb