Trip to Liverpool / West Kirby


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
December 6th 2007
Published: December 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello again~
Well, it has been quite a while since I have updated my travel blog, so I figured that it was about time for me to add some new pics and stories! This last semester has competely flown by! I cant believe it is already december. It doesn't snow much in Manchester, so it pretty much still feels like fall here. Most days are still around 45 - 55 F, and it really does rain quite a bit! I pretty much always keep an umbrella with me.
My life here has been filled with classes, research, work (I serve drinks on Friday and Saturday nights at a really nice Indian restaurant called "Shimla Pinks"), and I have also met a nice English bloke! The pictures that I will include in this entry are from the trip we took yesterday to visit Chris's parents in West Kirby, which is sort of like a suburb of Liverpool. We took the train there, and then we drove Chris's car back to Manchester. West Kirby is on the "Wirral" which is a peninsula, and it is right on the bay. It's beautiful!
I will also include pictures from "Bonfire Night" which
It was a bit windyIt was a bit windyIt was a bit windy

Its hard to see, but that is the Liver building in the background!
the English celebrate every November 5th. Apparently some guy named Guy Fawkes tried to burn down parliament a couple of hundred years ago, and so they celebrate the foiling of his plot to take down the government. It's also called "bonfire night" because they have huge bonfires along with fireworks displays all over the country. It's a pretty fun night : )
In case anyone reading this does not know, I will be coming home for a visit in about 3 weeks! I leave Manchester on Christmas morning, and I will arrive in Minneapolis on Christmas evening at about 7:30 pm. I'll be home for about two weeks, so please come and visit me!
Love you all and cant wait to see you!
Peace,
Angela


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Art Museum in LiverpoolArt Museum in Liverpool
Art Museum in Liverpool

We only had a few minutes in Liverpool before we needed to catch our next train to West Kirby, so this is just one of the few buildings outside of the train station!
The bay in West KirbyThe bay in West Kirby
The bay in West Kirby

You can see a bit of land in the distance, thats Wales!
The bay in West KirbyThe bay in West Kirby
The bay in West Kirby

I'm pretty sure I'd like to live in one of these houses! The view was amazing.
Some guy was windsailingSome guy was windsailing
Some guy was windsailing

It was freezing and VERY windy by the water, so this guy was pretty brave!
Doogle!Doogle!
Doogle!

This is Chris's family's dog. He is a Westie and his name is Doogle! He's a sweetie!
Sue and DaveSue and Dave
Sue and Dave

These are Chris's lovely parents Sue and Dave!
Abbee, Trinette, Me, and MegAbbee, Trinette, Me, and Meg
Abbee, Trinette, Me, and Meg

The girls on Bonfire night!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb