First Entry


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
April 2nd 2007
Published: April 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone (anyone?!)

Doubt anyone will read this but it will be good for me to keep it updated with all the new things I'm finding out as I go along, researching and eventually planning this whole exciting journey.

So, the other night (March 29th), I was chatting to some guy about road trips. He was planning driving north-south, east-west through Iran, and I was saying how brilliant an idea that was. It kind of got me thinking; do I want to travel? The answer to that was a definite yes. So I thought, where to? Europe? Well I live in England, its not exactly a life affirming thing to travel an hour on a plane into the middle of France, and come back again a week, a tan and a cultureless holiday later. Australia? Not really interested in that. Asia? I'm no good with language barriers for the time being! Too busy studying for my degree.

The answer? America! Of course! But, being me, I don't just want any old American trip. Here's my idea.

A road trip, taking in the following cities.

Boston
New York
Springfield, Georgia
Atlanta
Memphis
Dallas
New Orleans, Los Angeles
Los Angeles
San Jose
San Fransisco
Sacramento
Salt Lake City

4,700 miles direct. But I don't think I'll be going direct. That route takes me nicely by or through lots of places; Yellowstone, Route 66, the Canyon, and more that I'm sure I'll find out about through all this research I'm doing and I hope some of you will help me with!

Current Obstacles:

Money

Its going to cost ALOT

Licenses

I can't drive yet, and I want to do as much as possible on a big old motorbike. Although a car would also be cool, so I need two licenses.

Anyhow, thats how I stand at the moment. Obviously this will be updated pretty sporadically for a while, but hopefully things will hot up and I can use this much more often!

Dan

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb