Chapter 1: It's good to be back


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » London
September 2nd 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Group ShotGroup ShotGroup Shot

Our last big hurrah deserves a place in the blog
We left for Seattle at 5:36am on September 1st. The rain was coming down lightly, and I remember my mind was racing, as I tried to make sure I hadn't forgot anything vital to my mission. Of course, without the ability to double check all of my gear before leaving, I was still going over the list until we hit Sea-Tac airport.

The day before I left was a very good last day in Portland. Mi padre took me out for some man-to-man talk and some good beer, something I appreciated greatly. The family went out to Por Que No for some mexican food, knowing full well that those would be the last tacos I had until my return. And, in case you were wondering, yes, I do already miss mexican food. One of those casualties though.

The drive up was exceptionally grey. You don't think it can be more than simply grey up to a point, but then BAM. More grey. Eventually though, as the sun started to come up, the grey was replaced by open skies. The sun rose over the hills and caught the light of some clouds in a very cool way. We didn't have
Mount RainerMount RainerMount Rainer

It's all in the title
the time to pull over and snap a shot, so you'll have to picture it.

As for the process of getting from Seattle to London, I won't go into details. The flight from Seattle to Philly was long and punctuated by the occasional greeting from the rude staff members. While in Philly, I saw the Phillies mascot and snagged my trophy photo for our layover. The trip from Philly to London was sleepless, but also crashless, something I'm thankful for since I found out that the island from LOST can move about and make planes crash. Terrifying prospect that.

We touched down in London, and can I say that I am BEAT. Today's entry will be shorter than normal simply because I'm fighting to keep my head up. This is hour 28 without sleep, and we have miles to go before we sleep. Tonight, we go to bed early, and tomorrow, we are up earlier to do 5K tourism rally. Big Ben, the Tower of London, and Hyde Park are just some of the places we intend to go. Until then, I'll write again soon.

Signing off from London, England...

Ben

Advertisement



2nd September 2010

LOST REFERENCE
Love the lost worries...hey college football kicks of tonight!!!! Just to keeping in the loop. I'll eat some mexican for you.

Tot: 0.327s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb