Nelly wants to ride too - Sep '09 to June '10


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » London
June 12th 2010
Published: August 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

IN ENGLISH


London, UK: from theory test to CBT to full motorbike licence

Our motorbike experience so far resumes itself to the daily commute to work and the odd short trip at the weekend. I (Nelly) have completely adopted the pillion passenger attitude; Suzie is comfortable; we've got intercom system to talk to each other; iPod is playing in my ear; no stress for me as John is bearing all the road concentration. Life's good but...

Only one rider means the fatigue and the physical strain on the road could potentially limit our trips, or so to speak limit the length of our journeys ie stop more often for John to rest, ride a maximum of five hours per day. And besides, I wanted to 'give it a go' too, wanted to feel the experience myself. I then decided to take the full licence test, and therefore be able to share the riding with John in the future.

First step is to pass the theory test. I bought Highway Code CDs and studied, took mock tests at home, became more observant while a pillion. The test is in two parts: multiple choice questions about road signs, attitude, rules, etc; and hazard awareness where a serie of video clips is played and you need to react to potention hazards appearing on the screen. That was the most difficult for me to master. But I eventually passed both parts of the test on the same day. Great! 😱

Following the theory test, is the CBT test (Compulsory Basic Training). CBT must be completed before a learner moped or motorcycle rider is allowed to ride on the road with L-plates. The test consists of one day at a training centre with a bit of theory, and practical exercises on a moped (slaloms, figures of 8, emergency stops, use of indicators and mirrors etc), and about one hour on the road with instructor following behind in radio contact. I passed the CBT test in September 2009.

Armed with the theory and CBT certificates, I was then allowed to ride a bike on the road, up to 125cc with L-plates for a maximum of two years. But I was still unable to ride Suzie 😞
Then John bought me a Yamaha YBR 125 for Christmas (bless him!) so I could practice 'for real' on the road. It has been an invaluable experience in terms of handling, road awareness, smooth riding as 'practice makes perfect'. I love my bike, it is silver colour and a mini me version of Suzie (see photo on the right).

For months I have gained experience and confidence riding the Yamaha on my own and felt ready to take the test for the full motorcyle licence. My bike for lessons at the riding school was a Yamaha 600cc. The practical test is also in two parts: handling and manoeuvring in an enclosed area (parking, slow riding, slalom, figure of 8, emergency stop) and a 40-minute ride taking town centres, secondary roads, dual carriageways or motorways, hill start and pulling over situations. Stressful days but it has to be done.

As of June 2010, NO MORE L PLATES for me! Hooray, I am a fully qualified biker 😊😊😊
I ride Suzie from time to time for practice on my own or even with John as a pillion passenger. Okay I am still a bit raw but getting better and better at it. Soon my turn will come to share the riding while on holiday. Watch this space...


EN FRANCAIS


London, RU: les etapes du permis moto

Pour le moment, notre experience de motards se resume aux trajets journaliers maison-boulot et les petits weekends occasionels. Je (Nelly) completement maitrise la technique du passager; Suzie est confortable; on a un systeme audio pour se parler; mon iPod me joue de la musique; pas de souci pour moi, c'est John qui assume la concentration de la conduite. La vie est belle mais...

Seulement un motard qui conduit = plus de fatigue et le challenge physique sur la route peuvent limiter les voyages, ou en tout cas limiter la longueur des voyages, c'est a dire s'arreter plus souvent pour que John puisse faire une pause, ou rouler cinq heures maximum. Et de toute facon j'avais envie 'de prendre les rennes aussi', de vivre l'experience moi-meme. J'ai donc decide de prendre les mesures necessaires pour passer le permis moto complet, et de surcroit etre capable de partager la conduite avec John.

Premiere etape: passer le code. J'ai achete les CDs, j'ai etudie a la maison et j'ai prete plus attention en tant que passagere. Le code est en deux parties: questions a choix multiple a propos des panneaux, regles de la circulation etc; et un test d'observation ou il faut regarder une serie de video clips et reagir a des situations de danger potentiel qui apparaissent a l'ecran. Ceci fut le plus difficile pour moi. J'ai reussi les deux parties du code le meme jour. Super ! 😱

Apres le code, il faut passer un test "CBT" (Compulsory Basic Training). Le CBT est obligatoire afin de pouvoir conduire une mobylette ou une moto de maximum 125cc et le certificat est valable deux ans. Le test consiste a une journee d'exercices pratiques sur une mobylettte (slaloms, cercles, arrets d'urgence, observation dans les retroviseurs et utilisation des clignotants etc), et ensuire environ une heure sur la route avec un instructeur qui suit derriere. J'ai reussi le CBT en septembre 2009.

Munie du code et du CBT, je pouvais desormais conduire une moto de 125cc maximum pendant deux ans. Mais je ne pouvais toujours pas conduire Suzie 😞
Alors John m'a achete une Yamaha YBR 125 pour Noel (comme il est gentil !) afin que je puisse m'entrainer 'en vrai' sur la route. Ceci m'a vraiment aide a perfectionner la manoeuvre, l'attention sur la route, le faufilage dans la circulation urbaine. Je l'aime cette petite moto, elle est grise comme Suzie, c'est une version mini (voir photo plus haut).

Pendant des mois je me suis entrainee a conduire la Yamaha seule et lorsque je me suis sentie prete, j'ai passe le permis. Pendant les lecons la moto que j'avais etait une Yamaha 600cc. Le permis est aussi en deux parties: d'abord manoeuvres sur un parking (garer la moto, conduite au pas, slaloms, cercles, arret d'urgence) et ensuite conduite en ville, sur routes secondaires et voies rapides, un ou deux demarrages en cote etc. Intense mais il faut y passer.

J'ai le permis moto depuis juin 2010 ! Houra, je suis motarde 😊😊😊
Je conduis Suzie de temps en temps pour me perfectionner, seule ou avec John en passager. Bon d'accord je suis encore debutante mais je m'ameliore a chaque sortie. Bientot mon tour viendra ou je partagerais la conduite en vacance. Affaire a suivre...


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0611s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb