A Rainy Day in Blackburn


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Lancashire
October 5th 2008
Published: October 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ok, so I'm still actually in SoCal (see, learning the language). I was getting fed up of choosing the same location each time so thought I would have a change. My heart was in Blackburn this morning though. Or at least my football team. (That's football as in socccrrrr, as some would say over here). The game was live on Fox Sports Soccer at 9.30am, an almost sensible time compared to the UK lunchtime kick-offs.

Oddly, for the second weekend running the 'football alarm' in my head woke me up at 7.02am, just in time to tune in for the live 3pm UK game. Sadly, this week's match was West Brom v Fulham. Sigh.

Watching the rain pour down made me think not to complain too much about it being cloudy in San Diego. Though they are forecasting rain here tomorrow. Just tomorrow. Back to sunny and mid-70s for the rest of the week.

Chilly

Last night we were moaning about the cold! K and I went to The Cinema Under The Stars to watch The Philadelphia Story, the 1940 classic starring Katharine Hepburn, Cary Grant and James Stewart. I think it's been on telly a few times but neither of us had seen it, though we had watched the remake High Society a couple of months ago.

Quirky

The cinema is as quirky as it looks. It is in the back yard of a hairdressing salon, seating around 50 people. $13.50 to get in, which gets you a voucher for a free $55 'single application color or shine coat with first time haircut'. No, I don't know how much the haircuts are! Or what a shine coat does. Sounds more canine than human to me...

You sit in the open on garden recliners, though we had opted for the 'love cabanas' on the back row. Mainly for the padded seats I would add, though sharing a blanket was useful! They even had to turn on the patio heaters, that's how cold it got. I almost wished I had put a jacket on.

Oh, the film. Very good, as expected.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.152s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb