Nearly time to make like a donkey's dick... and hit the road


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Tunbridge Wells
February 20th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So it's now just 6 days til I jump on the big ol' plane and head for the sunnier climes of India, needless to say I've left buying all my kit to the last week before I go but it makes things a bit more exciting at least. Oh and it gives me a very valid excuse not to do any more shifts at work before I go. I really did enjoy working at the Hand & Sceptre but having left to go to India I wouldn't want to go back, maybe in the uni holidays when I'm cash strapped.
Anyways there's still a lot for me to do... like buy some clothes, get travellers cheques, oh and of course the diarrhoea medicines (apparently it's unavoidable, I'll let you know... in detail)

I've set up this blog as it seems an easier way of letting people know what I'm doing than sending loads of emails but odds are I probably won't keep it up and my entrys will peter out as I settle in but consider this my token effort (those of you who know me know to expect no more than that)!

Lots of people have asked if I'm nervous at all but I can honestly say that I'm just excited about entering into a completely new, loud and vibrant culture; from the bustling streets to the colouful dress, trying the new (blatantly mouth-violatingly hot) foods and being woken by the strange sounds. Right now I'm even excited about the dodgy driving (well the pick-ups in Belize were fun!) on crammed buses and to being hassled from the word go in Delhi airport. Maybe that rabies vaccination affected me but it seems that I've been waiting so long to go, especially since Christmas as I've watched everyone else jet off on their own adventures or disappear back to uni to drink their way through their degrees. I know I will miss home and certain aspects of life here but at the moment these couldn't be further from my mind and above all I'm bored, after 5 months work it's about time I pushed myself out of my comfort zone.

As for my plans, beyond my teaching I'll be travelling at least until the end of July and hopefully longer if I can extend my visa, maybe into september so I can get a few weeks to catch up with everyone (apart from Pat, he'll continue to never answer his ******* phone, hint hint) before I head to uni. Where I'm travelling? No plans yet just some ideas, but there's no need for organisation, it'd be boring if I knew what I was doing next.

So keep in touch (I should have email access or just leave comments on here) and my next entry will be from India.



(Oh and if anyone's around in Tonbridge while I'm gone, please pop into Subway, I'm sure a certain professional sandwich artist who goes by the name of Zach Smyth could do with the company while he bums about for the rest of the year!)

Advertisement



22nd February 2007

Decleration of love
If I declared my undying love for you, would you stay?
23rd February 2007

Hi
Hay Andy, well i cant exactly say I've heard of where you are going, so i wont try. But it sounds like your going to enjoy yourself!! Diarrhoea!! Gotta love it :S Do you possibly think that you might get it from the food...? A loud and vibrant culture.. sounds perfect for you :) Even though i honestly didnt think that monks were that loud and vibrant to tell the truth.? Or am i mistaken? Have you secretly booked to like ibiza or somethink? So your leaving a comfort zone that will big a big blow for you but im sure you will somehow build a new shrine which helps with that. Well anyways have loads of fun as i know you will!! Matt Runciman!
24th February 2007

Bear
Bear, you're going! I'm sure India is going to be amazing. Don't get AIDS, oh wait you ARE AIDS. Um can you bring me back a better present than Amy did, ie. no tribal, (or monastry) sex toys? I will say something deep and meaningful when I think of it, that might be some time, in the mean while have a spiffing time old chap, and remember this: you're gay. Philly xxx

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb