Preparations for travel


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Rochester
July 14th 2006
Published: July 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Viv's Trek 2006


I have started this travelblog so my family and friends can keep up with where I am and see I am safe and well and frittering away my future.

After 41 years of underachieving and 10 years of longing to see Australia I finally found a way to excel at one whilst visiting the other - I have chucked my job in and am off to Ramsey Street Land!

It was all very sudden. I was commuting to work when I realised that another minute stuck on a train to nowhere would kill me. When I got to work I resigned on the spot - my boss was speechless. I like to think he was heartbroken at losing such a valued employee, but it was probably more amazement at seeing me walk into the office on time for once. I cried for the rest of the week at the thought of having to go through more soul-destroying interviews whilst pretending to be really, really interested in yet another blue-chip decharisma chamber. Then I realised that I don't have to put myself through it at all, I could simply drop out and do something I really enjoy, and if I can't find something I enjoy, at least I can while away the time on a train to somewhere.

That was 5 weeks ago, since then the time has flown by whilst I try to get organised to go travelling.

My house has to be rented out. Prior to renting I have decided to declutter and get rid of all the stuff I hoard away for years ... and never quite use. I thought I would combine this with some fundraising for my trip and sell things on eBay. This has been a runaway success, I can't imagine why I didn't start this years ago. Total funds raised selling tat on eBay: £12.42. Total cost of listing tat on eBay: £5.00. Total money squandered on eBay buying other people's tat "that might be really really useful for travelling" £101.99. Glad to see I have lost none of my business acumen.

So the house is not quite rented, the funds are not quite raised, but I haven't let such minor drawbacks from stopping me continuing to plan. The really exciting part of the planning is to think about where to go and what to see / do when you get there. It has taken three weeks of reading guide books, noncing about on Expedia and route planner websites and discussing the possibilities for hours with anyone and everyone, but finally I decided on the route. My final decision was greatly helped by Karl at Travel Nation, who suggested the best order, the best way of getting the most travel for my money and loads of helpful tips and side trips. My route is as follows:

London - San Francisco - spend 2 weeks driving from Sacramento to Seattle to Yellowstone NP to Sacramento.

SF - Fiji - spend 10 days trying to teach myself to relax. I have every faith that Fiji will have magical healing powers with regard to such things. It took two years of cognitive behavioural therapy for me to merely recognise that I should try and relax, now I am convinced I will achieve it whilst seeing everything 300 islands have to offer in 10 days - 48 relaxing minutes travelling to and seeing each island - piece of cake! I can feel the calm washing over me in great waves now just thinking about that challenge.

Fiji - Brisbane to Cairns overland. Meet up with Colette and travel for 6 weeks.

Sydney - visit with a friend, see Sydney

Sydney - Auckland. New Zealand

Christchurch - Melbourne -

Great Ocean Road. Adelaide to see a friend who lives there.

Adelaide to Alice Springs by train.

Ayers Rock to Perth

Perth to Singapore

Singapore to Bangkok by train via Malaysia and maybe Laos and Vietnam.

Bangkok to Hong Kong

Hong Kong to Shanghai and Beijing by train

Beijing to London.

The next thing on my list was to draw up a to do list and not only have I drawn up a list, but I have actually been doing some of the things on it. So far I have advertised my house, booked my vaccinations, booked my flight, downloaded the form for my visa to China - I haven’t filled it in, or checked up what documentation I need or got recent appropriate photos, but I have downloaded the form. Small steps.

I have managed to arrange a visa for Australia - 6 month multi entry. It was really easy and I did it all on the internet at http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/tourist/676/index.htm. It only cost $70 and took just 2 days. I think if I had gone for the 3 month ETA that might have sufficed - but I like the idea of being able to stay for 6 months. Just means I don't have to watch the date. The ETA is apparently far simpler to complete. I had to list every criminal conviction I may ever have had - even the spent ones - so the Australian government is now aware of every speeding and driving conviction in my murky past, and they were restrained enough not to insist that the visa was on condition I never get behind the wheel of a vehicle. You can't say the Australians aren't generous to a fault!

And now I just wait for the off - 5 weeks yesterday. I am so excited I can hardly wait.

Advertisement



1st August 2006

Quality Assurance
I do hope that you keep up this level of literary genius once you've been exposed to / basked in those ultraviolet rays / ultraviolent cocktails (See how many useful combinations you can make..). Certainly brightened my afternoon and I haven't even left my desk !! Sx
11th August 2006

Hi Viv
Hi Viv, Your prose style is just as brilliant as ever - did you ever think about journalism? I'll look forward to regular updates while I'm stuck back here in Milton Keynes... Cheers, Guy
14th August 2006

So Jealous
Now that my travels are over and I'm settled back into the monotonous I look forward to hearing all your exciting adventures!! If only your suitcase was big enough to jump in!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb