The Trip to England !!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Kent » Canterbury
May 12th 2008
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The HouseThe HouseThe House

The house we stayed in for the week

Day 0 of our trip (D-Day, or the Day of Days)



Sunday (04/05/08)
Before the trip I was really worried. But all my fear and hesitations vanished when I saw my friends at school all ready like me to go to England. First we took a bus to get to Callais in France. The 3 hour bus ride went by fast for me because I was reading a book (Stephen King - Misery). After that we took a ferry called "Pride of Dover" over the channel to England. That reminded me of the ferry boat I took a few years ago from Copenhague to GdaƄsk. We got off at Dover. By that time we were all very tired and wanted to just go to bed (we departured at 14:15 after some bus trouble, and we arrived in our houses at around 8 o'clock.) It was already dark in Broadstairs when we arrived at our respective homes. Half of us were taken by the families right away by cars and the other half (In which I was) were taken to our famillies by 2 mini-busses. We met our families and saw where we would live for the next week.

Photo
Our RoomOur RoomOur Room

Photo 2: The room Alberto and I stayed in.
1: The House where I stayed for the week! (Kent, Boradstairs, Ramsgate Road 75.)

This is the house me, Thomas(a german- I'll explain later...) and Alberto stayed in for the 6 days of our trip. It's located not far from the school so we used to walk to get there everyday. It seemed big, but after a trip so long we were ready to stay even in the garden to get some hard earned rest!

Photo 2: Our rooms

While the house seemed big while looking at it from the outside, it was very small (but cosy!). I certainly imagined it would be bigger. Later on it turned out to be just fine! The German kid (Thomas) stayed in a separate room while I and Alberto stayed in this one shown on the photo.

Photo 3: The Familly

So here we are: Alberto, Thomas, Ms. Smith and I (I'm taking the picture xP). Mr. Smith was sleeping after a hard day's work. and Her 3 children were sleeping also ( A girl 4.5 years old, a boy who is 3 and another boy who is 1.5). I must say after a surname like that (Smith's)
The FamillyThe FamillyThe Familly

Photo 3: Alberto, Thomas and Ms. Smith (I'm taking the photo xD)
I was half expecting Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie xDDDD. I took into consideration them having children but, I imagined 1-2 kids around my age (16-19?) It was quite a shock for me. On a side note, I was hoping for a daughter or 2 in my age range to show me around town 😉

Photo 4: The ferry we took to get to England

The ship we took was big! It was named "Pride of Dover". Naturally I wasn't scared of ships (or worried that I'd be sea-sick) because it wasn't my first time on a ferry. I knew exactly what to expect, nevertheless it was a wonderful experience.







Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The ferryThe ferry
The ferry

Photo4: The ferry we took to get to England form Callais.


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb