Getting a Quote


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Isle of Wight
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've been looking at sites such as sta, travelnation and trailfinders, trying to get a rough idea on RTW ticket prices. After looking about I was hoping to probably pay between around £1,000 and £1,500 depending on the route.

So I got in contact with travel nation and had a chat on the phone, they seemed really friendly and helpfull which was a good start. Although still undecided on a definate route and it may well change, I wanted a starting point so we discussed the places I'd like to see and the routes available, and so far came up with the following (// = overland):

London - Bangkok - Singapore - Cairns//Sydney - Christchurch//Auckland - via Sydney - Perth - Tokyo - London , leaving between 16th Jan and 15th April 09, £1, 621 incl. taxes and fuel surcharges.

A little more than I was originally hoping for, but having said that after thinking about it and looking through the route again, I'm pretty happy with the price :D I could get a cheaper ticket but it would probably just have the one stop in oz and the one stop in nz. Where I only really have quite a short amount of time, if I wanted to see some of the west cost of Australia as well as the east, I'd have to get an internal flight. I'd also have to get another internal flight back to fly out of where I flew in to, if that makes sense! Meaning two internal flights which would obviously add to the cost of a cheaper ticket.

We were also looking at slightly cheaper routes and the option of going via the states:

London - Tokyo - Singapore - Bangkok - via Singapore - Perth//Sydney - Auckland - L.A - London, leaving between 16th January and 15th April 09, £1,386.

I'm liking the look of the routes and the prices seem good, though nearer to booking I'll check round with a couple of other companies. So I think now I need to decide if I definitley want to stop in Thailand and Japan, find out the prices of internal flights, how I'm going to get about in different places and a rough idea of things I want to see and do! 😊





Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb