Before...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hertfordshire » Watford
June 20th 2008
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

How it all began.



As I walked into work in January 2007 I vowed to myself that by the same time the following year that things would be different. Something would have to change. Never one to be accused of thinking and not doing I knew I would make something happen, I just wasn't sure what. I was not unhappy in my job,I just no longer wanted to be there. I was quite simply done. I had done all I could to the best of my ability and on the day of my ten year anniversary of walking into the same building in May 2007 I was sure I was going in a different direction, I just had to work out how or where I was heading.
September 2006 had begun a different kind of journey for me, when I started to learn the art of massage. As I learnt this new skill and found I had a connection with it, something changed. Something new and exciting had awoken in me and throughout the following year and a half this new love developed into a passion for something that I long to explore one way or another. A new career perhaps, or just a hobby, I don't know but that is another journey and is to be continued.....
The indecision of what to do back in May 2007 turned into ideas, should I rent my house and go traveling, or rent out my spare room to help with my mortgage, or change jobs, or move house, or, or, or? I was in the position of taking on an extra job or a lodger to pay the bills and all the while in a job I no longer felt 'right' in. I am a firm believer in turning a negative into a positive and it was then obvious to me that if I no longer had my house, I no longer needed my job. If I was free of a house and a job I was totally free to do what I wanted. I came to the conclusion I wanted a break, some time out if you like.
After much planning and deliberating I decided to take some time just to travel, see a little more of the world, do some volunteer work along the way and enjoy some new experiences.The prospect was both exciting and scary but the more I thought about it the more it felt right and an idea developed into a plan and that plan became action. Yes I was scared of making the leap, worried about coming back and starting over again but life's about taking risks and grabbing opportunities. It took the leap, I sold my house, left my job, and started a fantastic journey..........

Advertisement



3rd February 2009

BRILLIANT!!!!!
you were certainly on a roll eh girl!!! I was quite emotional reading that......I'm at Changi airport in singapore waiting for my next flight. cant wait to c u in england. love u lots my special friend x x x

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb