In my Gucci Gear


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Southampton
May 13th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It was hands on today on the fire fighting ground of the institue. We were all dressed up in our Gucci gear and were given a taste of what it would be like to have a fire onboard a ship. It was a real eye opener for me. We got to try fire extinguishers and fire hoses. We were given breathing apparatus and went in to experience what it is like to feel a real fire. It was very strenous - the breathing apparatus - similar to dive tanks - was heavy to carry. I did get panicked when I couldn't see out of my visor when we went into rescue a casualty, however there were loads of instructors along the route to assist me. The Far green structure in the fire ground pic is built like a ship with three levels, hatches, and door similar to those on a ship. It was very well organised and the fire well controled. I did feel very safe. Not something I would like to do every day but great to expereince. Again we had a small group so we were off early and Rebecca and I walked home. I will be in bed early this evening.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb