Easter Outing in Southampton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Southampton
April 17th 2007
Published: August 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had never imagined that my Easter holidays would be as eventful, joyous and rewarding as this year's. Reason, I'm so used to spending this period with family going to church - and therefore thought I would be very bored since in the UK I haven't had time to really get to know the Christian community where I live.

Nonetheless, I took off to Southampton, a lovely and quiet city just outside Winchester, south of England. The weather was attractively stunning when I arrived and I was reminded of Durban. The scenery, the lakes, the gardens and the waterfront all caught my attention as I landed - it was like I had set foot on a different part of Europe! The landscape in the outskirts of the city was irresistibly beautiful!!

My friends, Derrick, Tebogo and Tleyane made my stay there really enjoyable and worthwhile. On Good Friday they showed me the city, the parks and the gorgeous surroundings. Later in the evening, they prepared a nice meal for me after which we set off to experience the city's night life! We visited a few night clubs and had a few drinks until 2am Sat!

On Sat we took a boat to a place called Hythe, just south of the city. This reminded me of Cape Town and Robben Island. I was thrilled by the warmth of the people we met aboard - and we even met a South African from Eshowe who now lives in Southampton. He's been here for about 6 years - so we managed to quiz him about the place and asked him hard questions about why he left our beautiful country (smile)! Seems he loves the place though..




Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

ZIYAWA!!!ZIYAWA!!!
ZIYAWA!!!

Most of these people come from Botswana.. Ya, we got hooked up with some diamondz.
I just love the hat thingie...I just love the hat thingie...
I just love the hat thingie...

He really looks like Tony Yengeni, doesn't he?
Upmarket residential area in Hythe..Upmarket residential area in Hythe..
Upmarket residential area in Hythe..

You must check the cars and boats that these people own... Not funny!! We were told most of them are retired pilots and doctors... Wouldn't mind to stick around to wash and park their cars...
Derrick preparing breakfastDerrick preparing breakfast
Derrick preparing breakfast

...this man can really cook!! Believe me when I say that!
Tebogo & Derrick!!Tebogo & Derrick!!
Tebogo & Derrick!!

Yeah Rite.... we're on our way to Hythe!
Posing with our 'friend' from Eshowe, KZN..Posing with our 'friend' from Eshowe, KZN..
Posing with our 'friend' from Eshowe, KZN..

I wish you could see his bicycle... Looked like it had been picked from the trashes...
This was our transfer train from the waterfront to HytheThis was our transfer train from the waterfront to Hythe
This was our transfer train from the waterfront to Hythe

Ya... it's propelled by a DC motor (200V). Built in 1917.. Really loved it!


17th April 2007

You were a great visitor
Hey you know what Bianca the Brazilian girl is throwing with another Brazilian chic a big party from Friday, 8pm 27 April to Saturday 28 April 6am. It is their birthday. The party is walking distance from my place. Get back here if you can its the last rock in Southampton before the exams.
15th May 2007

Fun all da way
This was actually a great outing and fun. I envy you
27th May 2007

This is the first time i saw u dance!!
27th January 2010

contact
Hi I laiv travel blog. thanks

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb