6 weeks to go and butterflies are developing


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Portsmouth
January 15th 2013
Published: January 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Round the World Bike trip 2013 001Round the World Bike trip 2013 001Round the World Bike trip 2013 001

My kit laid out on my bed. Experienced adventure cyclists advise you to reduce your initial kit list by 50%!
Following an epic overland journey with Dragoman through Nepal and India over the Christmas and New Year period, realisation has set in that there are just 6 weeks remaining before I set off on my bike trip around the World. If I said I wasn't nervous, I'd be lying.

Between now and then, I need to get my fitness levels back up, as I have been doing diddly squat Physical Training for the past month and a half, and plenty of drinking Kingfisher beer. Luckily Southsea Fitness Military circuits are on hand to sort that out.

Also I shall be cycling to Woodlow Farm in Herefordshire at the end of January, my previous abode for the past year, to visit my good friends Bunty and Di, James and Jenny and Vicky. This will be a good training run to start wearing in my Brooks saddle (no pain...no gain) and will provide me with an opportunity to try out my new tent and camping equipment.

My remaining vaccinations will be given to me next week and then there are just a few administrative items which I need to resolve before I take the big step of cycling out of Portsmouth on 1 March 2013. Hopefully all this cold weather we are experiencing now will have long passed and Spring will really be upon us!

Advertisement



29th January 2013

Herefordshire Trip
Hey Smiler, I'm looking out the window thinking this hectic weather is pushing the boundaries of "character building". What a good test these next few days are going to be for you. Stay safeā€¦ x
10th February 2013

Safe Journey
Only 18 days to go before your off. So exciting and look forward to following your journey. We are currently in Puri having enjoyed a few days in the hill stations of Odissa. Miss you and we speak of you often. All good of course. Best Wishes as you wind down UK and say hello world!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb