It all starts today


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Hampshire » Gosport
July 6th 2016
Published: July 8th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

THE ROUTE SO FAR

THIS IS THE ROUTE SO FAR 378.83 MILES (AS THE CROW FLYES

17:50 Wednesday 6thJuly 2016.

Start my European adventure at the Hard, Portsmouth. Boarding the coach there was a lot of emotions flying around from both myself and the family members that came to see me off. I had already said my goodbyes to my dad as he is unable to travel the distance.

I settle in on the coach to London Victoria Coach station. I could dribble on about the traffic and the annoying people on the bus but…….you know how it is. It seemed like no time at all and we had arrived.

I collect the lightest rucksack ever packed (NOT) from the hold and make my way to the magical gate number 18 that’s going to transport me too far away lands. The check in was easy, Check name, given labels for bags and wait. (Note to self don’t fart in tent be right back)

Boarding the coach I quickly see a spot that I’m going to claim as my domain for the journey me on one seat and my bag on the other until all have boarded. SUCSESS its all mine both seats annnnnd relax. The coach driver had a great sense of humour while doing the safety announcement.

So we leave @21:37, get to the port of Dover @ 11:40. I was expecting a long winded check in with all the usual travel formalities, but An extremely quick glance at passports, no bag checks, x-rays, Nothing. On we go.

Ferry crossing was…..well a ferry crossing. P and O not as nice as the Brittany Ferries.

Arrive at Calais and we are the only coach to have the village idiot that goes missing. After 10 mins and a search of the ship, he’s found asleep in a corner one of the lounges. How he managed to sleep on those chairs is beyond me.

Anyway the rest of the journey goes without fault visiting, Lille (France), Ghent and Antwerp (Belgium) then on to Rotterdam and finally @ 08:45 (UK time) 7th July after 15 hours of travel……. Amsterdam (Netherlands)



It was cheap and cheerful and did what it said on the tin but OMG long, boring, tedious is an understatement.

Advertisement



9th July 2016

Having fun!
Hello mate sounds like your trip to Europe has gone good so far! Have fun over there. I'll be keeping an eye on this blog haha. Oh and that cruise thing we spoke about, I didn't get it.. But oh well heads up high. Have fun mate!
9th July 2016

cheers
All good over here! sorry to here that. Try again when been in professional kitchen for a few years. good luck mate.
13th July 2016

Yo!
All good so far, you still in the Weed Capital?

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb